Roomba Died

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Roomba Died

Postby barry1602 » January 31st, 2012, 5:27 pm

Hi all

I have a Roomba 560 which just seems to have died!!

It was sitting switched off and not charging or anything - literally just sitting in my lounge - when it emitted a weird sound, I went to check on it and switched it on, it lit up so I pressed the clean button. It made some more weird noises like a drowned cat then jerked forward a few times before dying.
It now does nothing, doesn't light up or make a sound. I tried a different battery in it but this made no difference.

Has anybody come across this before? Any ideas what's wrong with it?
barry1602

Re: Roomba Died

Postby TechGuy » January 31st, 2012, 5:47 pm

barry1602 wrote:It was sitting switched off and not charging or anything - literally just sitting in my lounge

How long your Roomba was switched off and not charging?
Roomba powers the IR subsystem even it is turned off. Over a long period of time, your Roomba will drain your battery to death.

Is there any chance that water get onto/into your Roomba while sitting there?
Charging battery directly: 400 Series, 500 Series,. How to Desolder
For Sale: Black CHM 2 Ball Bearings set
TechGuy
Robot Addict

Postby barry1602 » January 31st, 2012, 5:56 pm

The Roomba was sat not charging for three days. I tried another battery that was fully charged(I have a 530 upstairs) and it still didn't come to life.

It has not gotten water inside - I have no kids or pets to spill it in there - I opened it up to check for a burn on the main board but couldn't see anything.
barry1602

Postby victor560 » January 31st, 2012, 6:27 pm

what do you suppose robot heaven looks like?

I would make sure the prongs to the battery are not broken.

after that .... I'd trace the battery power to the cpu.