Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » May 31st, 2012, 12:52 pm

Hi all !

I've just received my new Scooba 230, it is charging.

When plugging the battery, I have noticed that it could be very simple to upgrade the 1350mAh battery.
The battery is 7,2V and probably composed with 6 x 1,2V rechargeable batteries, easy to replace.

Did anyone try to disassemble the battery and replace the 6 x 1,2V elements with 2500mAh or more ?

The problem after that will be the charging time, that is already very very long, and will be much more longer after upgrade :(
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » May 31st, 2012, 2:48 pm

Although you've hit upon a grand idea you will discover during dis-assembly of the 230 pack that the adhesive used to keep the two halves together will contribute to partial destruction of the assembly making it semi-difficult to hack.
Attachments
230.gif
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » May 31st, 2012, 2:58 pm

Thanks for information & picture.
You have opened it with a Dremel or something like that ?

vic7767 wrote:semi-difficult to hack.
It means that it is possible, but difficult ?
After separated the 2 halves, is it possible to glue the 2 halves again and put the caoutchouc joint ?

You tried to change the batteries or just opened the case ?

Do you have another pictures of disassembly ? I can't find any pictures on Google.
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » May 31st, 2012, 5:20 pm

I opened the battery using a pocket knife. The goal is to convert the case to LI-ion. Click on the picture to see all three gif images.
Attachments
290.gif
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » May 31st, 2012, 5:28 pm

Thanks.

Your work is still in progress, so ?

But if you convert to Li-ion, you should change the charger too, isn't it ?

Did you also think about the weight ?
LI-ion are lighter, so the effect on the brushes will be different I think.
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » May 31st, 2012, 5:36 pm

This will be an ongoing mod/hack. ZThe difficulty is finding cell phone batteries with the proper dimensions. The is no need to change the charger since the cell phone batteries are equipped with power control boards internally.
I don't consider the weight difference to be a concern.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 12:06 pm

If you find wich cell phone battery to use, please let me know ;)

In waiting, do you think that replacing 1300mAh NiMh elements with 3300 mAh NiMh elements will be a good idea ?
Of course the charging time will be much longer, but I could work on my different rooms the same day.
Last edited by chris-s on June 1st, 2012, 12:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » June 1st, 2012, 12:24 pm

I would just purchase a second backup battery, then charge both batteries, store one while using the other.

When I locate the proper LI-ion cell phone batteries you will certainly see a post with the mod.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 12:30 pm

vic7767 wrote:I would just purchase a second backup battery, then charge both batteries, store one while using the other.
Yes, but this suggest you think about charging both batteries. In my case, I would prefer to let the same battery in, and don't worry about charging twice. Technically, is there an inconvenient to replace 1300 elements by 3300 elements ? I think about thermal sensor and fuse.
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » June 1st, 2012, 1:01 pm

Battery capacity will have no effect on the thermistor or poly fuse requirements. The upgrade to a higher capacity battery could certainly be done. Take pictures and post your mod.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 1:03 pm

OK thanks
I will order the battery right know and do modification and pictures.

Any risk to damage the fuse during disassembly ?
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » June 1st, 2012, 3:13 pm

Possibly, but if a thin pocket knife blade is inserted under the metal tabs and used to pry up breaking the mechanical spot welds on each end then you may be able to rescue the poly fuse and have enough of the metal strap to allow soldering onto a new battery connection.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 5:45 pm

And about the black rubber seal.
Is it possible to remove it without destroying it ?
It seems to be glued (sticked?).
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » June 1st, 2012, 6:15 pm

It may not be necessary to remove it. However, I tried and was unsuccessful with removing it. There is some serious adhesive used to attach that oval ring of rubber.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 7:10 pm

Are you sure that it is not necessary to remove the rubber ?
Is it not sticked to the 2nd half of the case, on the border ?
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby vic7767 » June 1st, 2012, 7:40 pm

You can try removing the half case. There may be just a little adhesive holding the end near the rubber ring.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14558
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 1st, 2012, 7:43 pm

OK, thanks, I'll let you know as soon as I have some news.
230 battery already ordered, now looking for 2xxx mAh batteries.
Much choice, I don't know what is the best :mrgreen:
3500 mAh from China sounds like sh**, probably Uniross Hybrio 2600 could be better, or Camelion 2700... still searching
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 8th, 2012, 5:50 am

About this : viewtopic.php?f=20&t=16078&p=108239#p108239

Does that mean that the polyfuse is a non-hacking security for the battery ?
If I break the Polyfuse, may I replace it with another ?
Does the scooba work without the polyfuse ?
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby mfortuna » June 8th, 2012, 8:21 am

The poly fuse is protection against a short circuit.

It can be replaced.

It can be bypassed but if the pack gets shorted a large amount of heat can be produced, damaging the pack and/or the scooba.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5811
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Scooba 230 Battery Capacity Upgrade ?

Postby chris-s » June 8th, 2012, 9:45 am

OK thanks, I thought it was an active component that could be programmated.

Is the Polyfuse of the Scooba 2A ?
In that case, that mean I could charge the battery with an external charger at 2A max ?
Would it be faster as original charger ? There is no power and current information on the charger.
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Next

Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCCISProf, im1kissfan, jdong, leonicholson, Metalworker, sshephard and 340 guests