Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby Sean87 » November 15th, 2012, 10:00 am

Hi all,

I have just recently started hacking my roomba model 530. I can send commands to roomba but it does not act according to the commands I am sending, instead it just does random movements.

For example, according to SCI, The following command sequence should make roomba to drive forward:

Code: Select all
128 131 137 0 100 128 0


But in my case, the roomba moves forward for like 20 centimeters and starts circling around itself and some other random movements (I made sure that its in a pretty open space so it shouldn't be the proximity sensors).

Can someone please tell me what could be wrong? Am I sending the wrong commands? Should there be a delay between sending command bytes?

Also I would appriciate to know what are the commands for moving back, right and left.

I have another question, Imagin I have a software with 4 buttons to make roomba gor in 4 directions, do I need to send
Code: Select all
128 131
commands each time user clicks on a direction button? Or this bytes should be sent only once when my custom program starts?

Thanks!
Sean87
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:46 am

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » November 15th, 2012, 11:39 am

Just when it starts.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby Sean87 » November 22nd, 2012, 8:01 am

Can you please tell me what is the correct byte sequence that should I send to Rommba 5XX so it goes straight forward?!
Sean87
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:46 am

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » November 22nd, 2012, 6:28 pm

128 130 137 0 200 128 0 will put the roomba in control mode and drive it straight at 200 mm/sec. See the spec here:

http://www.irobot.com/images/consumer/h ... manual.pdf
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby Sean87 » November 23rd, 2012, 9:06 am

Any command that I give, also I used some apps from Robor AppStore, all my roomba does is going into SPOT mode. is there something with the roomba? I tried changing my usb to serial cable but I still get the same responce from my roomba.

Even giving commands to turn on/off LEDs will cause my roomba to go SPOT.

I wonder if you have any ideas for whats going on.
Sean87
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:46 am

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » November 23rd, 2012, 9:43 am

Make sure you have the baud rate set to 115200.

Also, if you open a terminal program and put your 530 on its base you should see charging info being displayed every second. This will prove you have a working serial port, and least on the RX side.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby Sean87 » November 28th, 2012, 10:38 am

Hi again and thanks for your rplies,

I still have the same problem. I did put the roomba in its base, used 115200 as baud rate, I receive nothing but ERROR and BREAK CONDITION (I am using real term).

Might be stupid, but could it be my connection cable? I am just using a normal USB to SERIAL converter cable, I am not sure if this cable is providing less or more voltage levels than roomba can read/write with.

I did check the cable with multimeter and I guess it's max voltage level while sending is -6.7 volts or something like that.

The conenctions: I conenct cables ground to roomba ground , also I am connecting TX and RX as well (tried to swap them but still same problem).

Can you tell me what are your toughts in this case? Do I need a specialized cable or something?
Sean87
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:46 am

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby vic7767 » November 28th, 2012, 11:26 am

Yes, a special cable is needed. One that converts TTL to USB. iRobot sells one on their website.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11932
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » November 28th, 2012, 12:35 pm

Hopefully you didn't damage the roomba which is expecting 0 to 5V only.

Irobot used to sell a serial to SCI cable but I don't see it on their website. Since you already have a USB to serial cable you could have used a serial to SCI cable if you could find one. They were only $9.99.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby vic7767 » November 28th, 2012, 12:51 pm

The accessory is still offered on the iRobot website for $20 it's under the Create robot subsection. Here's the URL: http://store.irobot.com/product/index.j ... age=family
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11932
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » November 28th, 2012, 6:00 pm

I was referring to the older DB9 to SCI cable which can be used with a USB to DB9 adapter Sean87 already has. That one was cheaper than the USB to SCI.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby Sean87 » December 20th, 2012, 10:26 pm

Yes guys you were right...I was so stupid :lol: I wass feeding roomba SCI with +-8 volts...But I was lucky....I mad a level shift board on a prototyping board with MAX232 and now the roomba is working through terminal and some apps I found on internet.

But I don't receive anything from roomba...maybe I have desteroyed the TX circuitry of roomba? but its RX works for sure as I can drive it around.

Please have a look at my other question maybe you can answer it:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=16673

thanks!
Sean87
 
Posts: 7
Joined: November 15th, 2012, 9:46 am

Re: Roomba 530 circles around instead of driving forward

Postby mfortuna » December 21st, 2012, 9:07 am

Best way to check RX data is with a terminal emulator. Put your roomba on a dock or plug the power supply into the jack on the side of the roomba. It should display charging info every second.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5218
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bab80, Charykun, Fraggboy, johnnyh, neato, tomnj, vic7767 and 250 guests