new roomba 770 stuck on error 6

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

new roomba 770 stuck on error 6

Postby djdark » December 24th, 2012, 4:56 pm

Hi, I have purchased two days ago a second hand roomba 770, in perfect conditions,like it was used very few times.
I don't know if it is full charged, but I try to use it, but every time i push clean he tell me to move it to another location. I have read lots of solution, the tin foil, the white paper trick, but nothing works. I have checked with my camera phone if the ir sensors works... and 2 of them are off. So I would like to know, if I dissasemble the roomba and take the sensors off detaching the cables of the sensors from the motherboard, it should work without them?
oh and I don't have any stairs. Thanks a lot for helping me! Ivan M.
djdark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 24th, 2012, 4:44 pm

Re: new roomba 770 stuck on error 6

Postby vic7767 » December 24th, 2012, 5:36 pm

Removing the wiring harness that routes the cliff sensors from the connector on the PCAB (Printed Circuit Assembly Board) will cause the MCU (Micro Controller Unit) to continue reporting a cliff sensor error 6. The only resolution will be to discover what caused two of the sensors to fail and repair them.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11929
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: new roomba 770 stuck on error 6

Postby djdark » December 26th, 2012, 6:22 am

Ok, thanks for the reply,I live in Switzerland and I speak french, so my english is not that good. I will look over more post before opening the roomba,that's a shame I wanted it so much... Now when you say "repair them" I can put a new diode sensor isn't? that would be a easy way, because if not something is wrong with the PCAB.
djdark
 
Posts: 2
Joined: December 24th, 2012, 4:44 pm

Re: new roomba 770 stuck on error 6

Postby vic7767 » December 26th, 2012, 11:25 am

Yes, you are correct. If replacing the IR sensor pair does not fix the error 6, then it will be the PCAB.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11929
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: joanquro, yohai and 188 guests