Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » August 16th, 2016, 10:54 pm

Do you think a 5pin micro to USB would work without the ttl to usb adaptor board?
Or should I dig around in my attic and pull out my Toshiba with rs port.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby vic7767 » August 16th, 2016, 11:13 pm

a1robotrepair wrote:Do you think a 5pin micro to USB would work without the ttl to usb adaptor board?


I think I did use a cable like that between a PC and the 980 when the Roomba was sitting on a shop table.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14389
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » August 17th, 2016, 7:44 am

Do you know the pin out for the 980 port?
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby vic7767 » August 17th, 2016, 9:13 am

I suspect it is the standard pinout used for the micro USB connector.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14389
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: 980 Dust bin motor RPM control

Postby victor560 » August 17th, 2016, 1:55 pm

vic7767 wrote:Did a little teardown of the 980 dust bin just to see what the motor looked like and also what triggers the different RPM speeds. As some others have mentioned, the dust bin motor resembles a smaller version of the early 5XXX and 3XX Scooba vacuum motor assembly including the impeller. What's a little different though is that the round motor casing and impeller spin. I used a bench power supply and set the dc voltage to 14 volts and increased the applied current from 0 to 1 amp. The voltage display changed to 7.4 volts and when I increased the current to 2 amps the RPMs increased and the voltage raised to 9.4 and the current was limited to 1.64 amps. I could not increase the current or voltage once the high RPMs were reached.


It has been a while since the above post so I quoted it.

any chance the motor is a brushless type?
and the speed is governed by a voltage step?

I am still reading through in the forums, apologies if this question is answered already.

victor560
victor560
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 73
Joined: December 21st, 2011, 5:24 pm

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » August 17th, 2016, 4:56 pm

Rather than trashing my USB port or the 980 port I'll measure and trace the pins after taking it apart. I like it so much I have another on the way. Really, I found 2 below my max price point.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » September 26th, 2016, 12:46 pm

USB to Mini USB works!
File: New Connection: Serial: Port: COM"x" USB Serial Port (COM"x")
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » October 4th, 2016, 11:42 am

The integrated home base IR emitter is more subdued than previous home bases. Using an older 500 series confuses the 980, the halo is 3 ft. and can prevent docking or maneuverability near it, especially in tight areas.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby Umlungu » October 15th, 2016, 10:30 pm

Hi there. Thank you for this post and pictures as they have been very helpful.

I am a Roomba hacking noob but have read up on the OI documentation and read through a number of online tutorials. I recently purchased a 980 and today hooked up a usb serial cable to the little guy. I can see the boot sequence during startup and readouts when docked, but for the life of me I can not get the 980 to respond to any opcodes.

I can't seem to elicit any sort of response for even the very first "128 132" commands.

Any thoughts about what I might be doing wrong?
Thank you.
Last edited by Umlungu on October 16th, 2016, 11:29 am, edited 1 time in total.
Umlungu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 15th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby vic7767 » October 16th, 2016, 12:04 am

Please explain the setup you are using to send op codes to the Roomba. Terminal software, etc.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14389
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby Umlungu » October 16th, 2016, 11:28 am

Thanks. Here is my setup:

OSX 10.11.6
CoolTerm 1.4.6 (57600 8-N-1)
USB to Micro USB Cable (Known to be in working order)

I read this tutorial, http://www.robotappstore.com/Knowledge-Base/4-How-to-Send-Commands-to-Roomba/18.html, but the basic commands elicit no response. I can see the boot sequence so I know the baud rate is correct.

I have tried sending opcodes in ASCII and in Hex without luck. If there is something about my setup I've missed, please let me know.

Thanks,
Michael
Umlungu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 15th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby vic7767 » October 16th, 2016, 1:02 pm

Receiving ASCII characters is different than sending numerical strings to your Roomba. I cannot offer further insight about your system and software since you are running software under the Apple environment of which I have no experience. Possibly another member will offer some insight to your issue.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14389
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » October 16th, 2016, 1:06 pm

vic7767 wrote:The 980 was taken apart, and discovered that there is COM access via a micro USB port hidden under the top rear right trim that can be popped off for access. Then use your favorite terminal program @ 115200
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby a1robotrepair » October 16th, 2016, 1:08 pm

vic7767 wrote:The 980 supports the Open Interface commands. Strange reactions to the soft rest command 7 which is not an OI command. The COM port has to be opened and then closed again to allow the Roomba to reset. Once that's done then the channel dumps this data:

key-wakeup
2015-08-01-1243-L 50 seconds
roomba-mobility/tags/v1.2.3:4060 CLEAN
2015-08-01-1243-L
bootloader id: 30F7 4808 1150 8620 EAN
robot-assembly: unknown
board-revision: rev-a808 1150 8620
hw-configuration: unknown
audio image status: ok , audio flash format: 5, pack ID: 5, Flash Image Name: El
Paso PP NAation: a
audio image status: ok , audio flash format: 5, pack ID: 5, Flash Image Name: El
enabled language: unknownen-US (0)
battery-current-zero 256
initial-lithium-battery-capacity: set to 3415 mAH
initial-lithium-battery-level: set to 3141 mAH
en-US (0) fr-
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 829
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby Umlungu » October 16th, 2016, 4:03 pm

Thank you for the thoughts. I'll try a few of these things.
Umlungu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 15th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby Umlungu » October 18th, 2016, 11:39 am

I have tried the following things so far:

- Connecting and disconnecting the COM port 2 (or more) times
- Changed baud rate to 115200
- Sending soft resets (opcode 7)

Without any luck. I did notice that the firmware version reported is the newer 1.6.6 so I am wondering if SCI/OI command support was disabled in the latest firmware. Has anyone else had success sending opcodes with the 1.6.6 firmware?
Umlungu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 15th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby mfortuna » October 18th, 2016, 5:14 pm

Try opening up a shell and try running the following commands. You may have to change the name of the port. This is a snippet from another post of mine.

As an example, very similar to my Beaglebone and Raspberry Pi boards, the following commands will retrieve status:

root@mike_edison:~# stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 speed 57600
57600
root@mike_edison:~# stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 raw
root@mike_edison:~# stty -F /dev/ttyUSB0 -echo -onlcr
root@mike_edison:~# printf '\x80\x82' > /dev/ttyUSB0
root@mike_edison:~# cat /dev/ttyUSB0 | hexdump -n 26 &
root@mike_edison:~# printf '\x8e\x00' > /dev/ttyUSB0
root@mike_edison:~# 0000000 0002 0000 0000 0000 0000 00ff 0200 feff
0000010 3c00 ffaa 1e64 8b09 8e0a

I can also turn on and off the side brush motor:

printf '\x8a\x01' > /dev/ttyUSB0
printf '\x8a\x00' > /dev/ttyUSB0
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5771
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 980 arrived at the shop

Postby Umlungu » October 19th, 2016, 7:01 pm

Thanks mfortuna. I was finally able to get OI commands working. :)
Umlungu
 
Posts: 5
Joined: October 15th, 2016, 10:06 pm

Re: 980 Dust bin motor RPM control

Postby Brett » August 29th, 2017, 8:45 am

vic7767 wrote:Did a little teardown of the 980 dust bin just to see ...

Lots of differences to the 8xx bins in spite of apparent similarity!

Image

But I'm really bemused by the little flappy thingy in the throat of the blower - what does it do? (Bottom left in the pic above, and you can see it in place in Ed's pic on pg 2 of this thread).



(-8
Time flies like an arrow.
Fruit flies like a banana!
User avatar
Brett
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 274
Joined: November 2nd, 2009, 8:50 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Previous

Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aarolar, Franzl, vic7767 and 341 guests