Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mode)

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mode)

Postby ashtrum » April 24th, 2017, 10:26 am

Good Day
I have my Roomba 655 for maybe 3 years and recently I found that main brushes are not spinning at all.
I bought replacement Enhanced Cleaning unit (Main Brushes).
But the new Brushes also not spinning, when Roomba is working, and I don't get any errors at all.
I did the test mode for this brushes and it's spinning great under the test mode (for approximately 5 seconds) , but still not in a regular cleaning mode.
I tried to find any related info, but everything was related to dirty enhanced module - witch is not my case because it's brand new.
If it's spins under test mode, that mean a motor and connections to the main board are fine. What could be reason when it's not spin at all when cleaning?)
Any suggestions, any help Please! Thank You!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 24th, 2017, 10:39 am

Use MANUAL test mode not AUTO and see how well your brush deck operates.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 24th, 2017, 11:11 am

Thank you for your answer.
I'm having hard time to figure out how to get into test Brushes in Manual test mode.
To enter into Manual test mode I use "dock"+"clean" and hit 6 times "spot" bottom, But I can't figure out how to get into test of specific part (main brushes particularly).

Thank you for help

UPD: I was Able to figure out how to switch between each part in Manual test mode. So the main brushes test come after the wheels test.
But something strange, when in wheels test for example, the wheels will run continuously until I hit "spot" to perform next test, and in a next test, which is Main Brushes test, the Brushes are fast spinning for 3 seconds than stop, I can came back to the same test by clicking "Dock" and "Spot" after that, but I'm getting exact same result, The Brushes are spin for 3 seconds and it's all. Is that should perform the test for Main Brushes like that, just 3 seconds spinning ?

Thank You!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 24th, 2017, 11:48 am

The cleaning brush test consists of exercising the anti=tangle test by spinning the brushes in one directio for 3 seconds and then switching to the opposite direction for the duration of the brush motor diagnostic. You can now suspect an H-Bridge component failure.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 24th, 2017, 12:04 pm

Thank You
I believe it's spins just into one direction for 3 seconds. Should it stop and spin to another direction as well immediately after that? or it should happen when hit "spot" again?

Thanks again!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 24th, 2017, 12:21 pm

Yes, it will spin in one direction for 3 seconds and then immediately switch to the opposite direction and stay running in that direction until the next test is entered.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 24th, 2017, 12:32 pm

Looks like this is exact my case. it's just into one direction and not into other.
You saying something to do with a H-Bridge? Is it possible to be more specific about this prat? how easy to replace and where I can find exact what is needed to my 655 model?

Thank You so much for your help!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 24th, 2017, 12:53 pm

Here is a link to some data gathered by several forum members that may help you in your quest on H-Bridge info:

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=17032
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 24th, 2017, 2:29 pm

Just trying to figure out where the H-Bridge located. Is it integrated part of PCB circuit motherboard like this one?:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/iRobot-Roomba-S ... SwX~dWtCVr

Or this is specific part that can be replaced like this one?:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/5PCS-Stepper-Mo ... Sw2GlXGi2r

Thanks You!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 24th, 2017, 4:06 pm

The H-bridges used to control the Roomba motors are all built into the PCA (Printed Circuit Assembly board).
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby a1robotrepair » April 24th, 2017, 5:09 pm

ashtrum wrote:Just trying to figure out where the H-Bridge located. Is it integrated part of PCB circuit motherboard like this one?:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/iRobot-Roomba-S ... SwX~dWtCVr

Yes to the above link.
No to the other link.
Here is another post for simple checks and a picture of where the H- bridge is located on the PCA.
http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=19065
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 783
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 25th, 2017, 9:47 am

Thanks a lot for all you help!
This is really helpful.
Just 125$ little bit costly for a new PCB circuit board. Maybe I can try to replace the H-Bridge only on PCB circuit board.
Some idea where I can buy just a H-Bridge for my model?
I tried ebay, but wasn't sure what I should look for. afraid not to buy the right one.
Any help with a link's where to buy this little part is appreciated!

Thanks again!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 25th, 2017, 10:34 am

There is not an H-Bridge kit that can be purchased. The H-Bridge components consist of transistors and diodes as well as other discrete devices that make up the dc motor control for each Roomba motor and are all inserted into the main circuit board. There are limited procedures that are posted in several areas of these forum pages that go into some detail for troubleshooting and replacement of defective parts once identified.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 25th, 2017, 11:11 am

Thanks again
Looks like in my case I'll just replace whole PCB circuit Board.
I see different options online. Looks like 500 series and 600 series have the same board so far.
Can someone confirm it for me please?

Thank You!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby vic7767 » April 25th, 2017, 11:24 am

When you decide on a seller of the circuit board for your 655, ask them if the board will work in your Roomba. Another option would be to purchase the iRobot Create 2 robot which is a rebuilt 650 without the brush deck and side brush but comes with everything else for $200 and iRobot sometimes offers free shipping during a sale promotion.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14303
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby a1robotrepair » April 25th, 2017, 12:56 pm

http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/download/file.php?id=8317&mode=view
Having repaired many H-bridge circuits in Roombas, I can tell you that your problem is 95% a broken solder joint or board trace or both.
With the symptoms you describe the problem is more than likely a broken connection between the PNP or NPN emitter pair connections to VBAT or SYSRTN GND respectively, OR: the PNP, NPN collector pair to the CHM connector.
Most of the time it is the PNP emitters connection. Open link above red mark to red mark.
Green to Green, Black to Black and Purple to Purple.
All like colored connections should have 0ohm continuity.
This person is good seller:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/iRobot-Roomba-Scheduling-PCB-circuitboard-mainboard-for-500-series-roombas-/172642224265?hash=item2832474889:g:De4AAOSw--1Wsa9k
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 783
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby ashtrum » April 26th, 2017, 7:31 am

Thanks a lot! this is great and helpful
I'll response here as soon as I move forward to repair the board or buy another one.
Thank you everyone for help!
ashtrum
 
Posts: 8
Joined: April 24th, 2017, 10:15 am

Re: Roomba 655 new Brushes bot spinning (working in test mod

Postby saba11 » June 19th, 2017, 6:50 am

I've heard a lot of people saying that the Roomba 655 is pretty decent. I'd like to know the opinions you guys may have about the Roomba 650 vs 655. How these two models compare and which one, in your opinion, takes the top spot?
saba11
 
Posts: 37
Joined: April 29th, 2017, 4:32 am


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: G-Man71, TechGuy, vic7767 and 356 guests