Physically disable bin full sensors

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby CarShopRoomba » April 3rd, 2018, 2:26 pm

We have a concrete floor lobby with lots of fine, sandy dust that accumulates every where. Without fail, our Roomba 980 will error out with a "bin full" error after 2hrs of cleaning. Upon checking the bin, it is only 10% at the most. It's just the fine dust inside causing the IR sensors to freak out.

We changed the setting to allow it to continue cleaning even with the bin full error, but it is still annoying to blow the bin out every morning.

Is there a way to physically disable those IR sensors, so it stops checking?
CarShopRoomba
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 3rd, 2018, 2:12 pm

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby a1robotrepair » April 3rd, 2018, 4:52 pm

Tape bot sensors with black electrical tape.
Let us know how it works, may take 2 layers.
Goo Gone to remove.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 930
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby CarShopRoomba » April 4th, 2018, 7:15 am

Interesting. I've seen guys do that to disable the cliff sensors, but won't this make the Roomba think the bin is full ALL the time?
CarShopRoomba
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 3rd, 2018, 2:12 pm

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby a1robotrepair » April 4th, 2018, 8:34 am

Taping the sensors with black tape is trying to achieve the opposite effect on the sensors. The bin full sensors programming activates with sensors being activated, reflective material between sensor and bin or bin not close to sensors.
This is a trial. I just tried it once and the bot runs. The bin didn't get full but usually gives full signal, not this time. Will it work? Trial and error.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 930
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby CarShopRoomba » April 6th, 2018, 7:09 am

I'm going to have to give a "no" to this one. Does not work. I put 3 layers of electrical tape all around the bin full sender and receiver on the main body (see picture). Bin sensor still shows BIN FULL after 1-2 cleanings.

My thought is to take apart the body and put the two sensors right next to each other. Thoughts?

tape.png
CarShopRoomba
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 3rd, 2018, 2:12 pm

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby TechGuy » April 6th, 2018, 11:52 am

That may work. I did similar hack with the cliff sensors. I put the IR LED and transistor inside a straw about half inches long. If works very well on cliff sensor. Try my hack with bin full sensor and report back.
Charging battery directly: 400 Series, 500 Series,. How to Desolder
TechGuy
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1544
Joined: February 17th, 2009, 11:52 pm

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby a1robotrepair » April 9th, 2018, 8:28 pm

Trial and error. I think that cures half the modification you are seeking.
Non-iRobot personnel are not sure how the software processes bin full status.
Other vac-bots look at bin current, when it changes on them is when they report bin full or filter change time.
iRobot could have used this method also, unknown by me.
Try resetting filter changed in app without cleaning the filter.
Again, trial and error.
Roses are red Violets are blue Poems are hard Flowers and Chocolate
http://www.daycounter.com/Calculators/
a1robotrepair
Robot Master
 
Posts: 930
Joined: October 14th, 2013, 8:40 am

Re: Physically disable bin full sensors

Postby CarShopRoomba » May 1st, 2018, 9:34 pm

I found the culprit and solved it.

Essentially the physical status of the bin must MATCH the software status of the bin full/empty. For example, if the bin has just been physically emptied, but the bin reset was not clicked in the app, the Roomba is going to get confused.
CarShopRoomba
 
Posts: 4
Joined: April 3rd, 2018, 2:12 pm


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BCCISProf, mfortuna and 380 guests

cron