My quick Roomba i7+ impressions

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

My quick Roomba i7+ impressions

Postby jdong » September 23rd, 2018, 10:07 pm

I got my Roomba i7+ from Bed Bath and Beyond on Friday, and spent nearly the whole weekend playing with it. At this point, I'm ready to start giving some initial impressions. I'll focus on the changes from the 980 as well as the Clean Base.

I will record some videos later this week to go with this review... I think my significant other was sufficiently annoyed by some of the experiments I already conducted that I didn't want to tempt fate by spending the rest of our Sunday making YouTube videos of a vacuum cleaner...

• Preface: The initial unboxing experience involves a software update. The update will appear like nothing is happening for almost half an hour (including no network traffic). However, leave it alone, and within an hour you'll hear it chime/reboot and the update will complete. DO NOT SKIP THE UPDATE, the robot ships with a software version that can't do Imprint mapping. So, it's essentially a 980 until you update it.
  • First off, the Roomba itself is A LOT quieter compared to the 980. With Carpet Boost, the 980 was almost deafening to have in the same room. I would describe the i7 as slightly quieter than the 980 in Eco Mode. I was actually kind of paranoid that my vacuum motor was broken or something because it felt too quiet. I sprinkled a bunch of flax and chia seeds as well as embedding some dryer lint into the carpet (both of which the 980 struggles with in Eco Mode), and it was able to consistently pick those items up. Sooooo I think it's working properly, though I'd love for others to weigh in on the noise level too.