Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 1st, 2019, 11:16 am

Has anyone tried this?
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby vic7767 » January 1st, 2019, 2:58 pm

You can purchase an iRobot Create2 for $200 and is a stripped down 650. It also comes with a USB SCI COM cable that retails for $30. Add a Aerovac bin, brushes and brush retainer and you're good to go.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14895
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 1st, 2019, 4:05 pm

Thanks. This is a complete (Ebay) 650, so I'll try and see if I can do a brain transplant from an old very used 595 to a brain dead shiny new 650 first. :)
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 1st, 2019, 4:58 pm

I did just disassemble, clean motherboard with alcohol and reassemble.
Didn't fix the problem, but I did manage to put it back together without "extra remaining" parts and without creating any new problems. Good practice. :)

From reviews, and comparing to my 665, the 595 is about the same. The 650 did come with a lithium battery.
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby Brett » January 1st, 2019, 9:38 pm

leonicholson wrote:Has anyone tried this?

Yes - it fits. All scheduler 5xx and 6xx motherboards are completely interchangeable.

Some might have RF and others not tho.

EDIT: this probably does not apply to the new generation (WiFi etc) 6xx machines.
Time flies like an arrow.
Fruit flies like a banana!
User avatar
Brett
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 426
Joined: November 2nd, 2009, 8:50 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 1st, 2019, 10:29 pm

Great. All I need to know. Will do the board transfer tomorrow. It will give my old 595 a brand new body. :)
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 3rd, 2019, 6:46 pm

Works great and docks.
It is fortunate that the Roomba is so modular and user repair friendly.
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby NoJimForHome » January 6th, 2019, 8:14 pm

Indeed. I put an eBay mobo in my 655 about two months ago after the old one mysteriously got wet.
(Note: toddler definitely not to blame. Maybe. Probably. Lots of things randomly get wet on top for no reason.)

I goofed the reassembly some, because only the CLEAN button works; all others seem stuck in place. Fortunately, CLEAN is the only one I ever use. lol
NoJimForHome
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 61
Joined: November 1st, 2018, 1:20 pm

Re: Would a 595 motherboard work in a 650?

Postby leonicholson » January 6th, 2019, 9:29 pm

My only difficulty was reinstalling the bumper so it isn't binding on anything.
Other than that, using labeled cups for the screws makes it pretty fast and easy. :)
leonicholson
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 183
Joined: November 3rd, 2017, 5:25 pm


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ASTMedic, Harry007x1, im1kissfan, Ionic, jdong, Miles267, rob111gb and 340 guests