Help - Vacuum stall? error code 3 - Roomba Discovery 4225

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Help - Vacuum stall? error code 3 - Roomba Discovery 4225

Postby tealiemonster » August 3rd, 2008, 6:57 am

I have a Roomba Scheduler model 4225 (basically a 4220 Discovery) who has been very faithful for 1.5 years.

He is now erroring out at random amounts of time into his cleaning route somewhere between 5 and 15 minutes after he has begun cleaning (no notable noises or anything). My house is wood floors, with a few small 4'x6' area carpets (short fibered.) The erroring is not consistently occuring on the wood nor carpet.
It is an Uh-Oh followed by 3 beeps. The error codes listed for the 400 roomba, series 4220, on http://www.irobot.com says 3 beeps is a Vacuum Stall.

I have done some internet research, so here is where I am at:

I am past warranty so I went ahead removed the casings and did a very thorough all-over cleaning, mostly with my aircompressor, vacuum and soft dry toothbrush.

I also ran the diagnostic-test, with no notable issues. During test 13, VACUUM-IMPELLER-MOTOR CHECK, I got good, powerful airflow.
http://www.roombaexchange.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=14&highlight=diagnostic

I then took apart the vacuum bin and did a detailed cleaning, removed all grit and dust, wiped down all the plastic pieces, went over the electrical contacts with a fine grade sandpaper, and WD40'd the vacuum motor's "drive shaft" (it looked like the best lube option; it appears I can't disconnect from the little fan without breaking it).

So here I am. Any advice, opinions or comments are appreciated!