Neato upgrade fails

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Neato upgrade fails

Postby old man » September 1st, 2011, 9:05 pm

Have tried chrome firefox IE--three different computers
Turned off virus/firewall protections
Upgrade program trys to find upgrade --fails

So far customer service has been nice to talk with, but offers no solutions.

I down load "harmony one remote" upgrades--- no problem

I have been trying since upgrade was released, with no success.

Any help would be appreciated
old man
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 13th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby vic7767 » September 1st, 2011, 9:13 pm

What cable are you using between the PC and the Neato ?
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11922
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby User38 » September 2nd, 2011, 3:42 am

Have you tried using different USB ports?
User38
 
Posts: 33
Joined: June 10th, 2011, 8:50 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby Geppo » September 2nd, 2011, 12:24 pm

old man wrote:Have tried chrome firefox IE--three different computers
Turned off virus/firewall protections
Upgrade program trys to find upgrade --fails

So far customer service has been nice to talk with, but offers no solutions.

I down load "harmony one remote" upgrades--- no problem

I have been trying since upgrade was released, with no success.

Any help would be appreciated


I suggest you to try again connecting the XV-11 DIRECTLY to a USB port with a SHORT (<2m) certified USB 2.0 cable EXCLUDING any USB hubs, disabling your antivirus software and any active firewall.
Geppo
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 115
Joined: August 13th, 2011, 4:42 am
Location: Italy

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby old man » September 3rd, 2011, 3:53 pm

My post states that I have already complied with your suggestions.
I have a 1m certified cable.
Neato contacted me and said they will have a fix in 1 or 2 weeks
old man
 
Posts: 3
Joined: June 13th, 2011, 12:54 pm

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby Geppo » September 4th, 2011, 2:24 am

old man wrote:My post states that I have already complied with your suggestions.
I have a 1m certified cable.
Neato contacted me and said they will have a fix in 1 or 2 weeks

The important suggestion in my post is to remove any existing ubs hubs and to connect directly to the PC. I personally experienced several issues due to the presence of hubs. Anyway, the technical support surely will be able to fix your issue.
Geppo
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 115
Joined: August 13th, 2011, 4:42 am
Location: Italy

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby TimTaler » November 10th, 2011, 3:30 am

I cant upgrade to 2.1 in the past, or now to 2.4:
I installed everything on Computer. All fine.

I plug in my Neato (fully charged) , the neato will found as device. OK

i start the online upgrade, but it allways ends with:



Sorry, there was a problem processing your request. Please make sure your Neato Vacuum is connected with your computer and it is charged. Here are some helpful troubleshooting tips for common problems that can occur.

You can also contact us at support@neatorobotics.com and let us know what problem you experienced. Thanks for your patience!


I use 2 different computer, XP,VISTA,Firefox and Interenet Explorer, allways the same results... 32 bit, Firewall disabled. Diffrent USB Ports, diffrent USB-Cables.

SN0011505
SW 1.1.13354
LDS V2.4.13386
Rev113


thanks for any help...
TimTaler
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 88
Joined: August 6th, 2010, 5:42 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby vic7767 » November 10th, 2011, 11:22 am

I discovered that the upgrade won't work if you are using a wireless router. The router must be removed from the connection in order for the download to work.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11922
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby sotm » November 10th, 2011, 12:17 pm

Hi vic7767:

vic7767 wrote:I discovered that the upgrade won't work if you are using a wireless router. The router must be removed from the connection in order for the download to work.


Not in my case. I did the upgrade to 2.1 using a wireless router. I have not tried to upgrade to 2.4 yet.

Best regards,
Sinner Of The Meadow
sotm
 
Posts: 18
Joined: September 15th, 2011, 3:14 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby vic7767 » November 10th, 2011, 1:11 pm

I also had success when upgrading to 2.1 with my router in place.

That was not the case with 2.4

I tried the process on two different computers (Win 7, & Win XP) and three different XP-11 robots, all with the same failure until I removed the router.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11922
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby sageman » November 10th, 2011, 1:22 pm

i found a way to upgrade with vista to 2.4 if it fails on an xp/w7 machine

i cant be responsible if this goes wrong it is entially your choice to do it this way

download the neato installer software thingy on the xp machine (will say xp for w7 as well just easer)

and transfur it onto the vista then go to the update software bit of the website (where you acctially update the robot) on the xp machine and cope the web address to the letter and put that on the vista machine then do what web page says

it worked for me like it should and neato is now running 2.4 although i dont know any differences yet as dont plan on getting up at 2 am to watch it clean but i do know its getting everywhere tho
400/disco disassembly's (everything down to the PCB)
http://www.robotreviews.com/wiki/400disco-disassembly

one day many years from now a person will say "right I'll just ROOMBA downstairs" instead of hoover
oh wait I already do :)

main bot: neato xv-15 (Europe xv-11)
to sell (one day): roomba sage and silver (both 400's)
User avatar
sageman
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: May 10th, 2010, 2:10 am
Location: norfolk uk

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby Blind Guy » November 10th, 2011, 7:20 pm

vic7767;

We downloaded 2.4 using a Tooshiba Laptop with Windows 7 and a wireless router with NO difficulty. It downloaded just like 2.1 did.

David (aka Blind Guy)
Blind Guy
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 165
Joined: June 3rd, 2011, 3:10 pm
Location: Springfield, Mo.

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby vic7767 » November 10th, 2011, 7:54 pm

Ya, I think it is something with my 802.11N router firmware. It's not the same router that I had when I flashed to 2.1 on the Neato.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11922
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby jgo » November 11th, 2011, 3:49 am

When I updated to 2.1 I did it on a Macbook Pro using windows 7 running in VMware Fusion. No problems.

With 2.4 I can't get passed the last update page, no matter what I try: the VM, boot camp, or the Vista work-around described in this thread, using IE and Firefox, uninstall-reinstall Neato drivers, using wireless router and ethernet connection...

There must be some inherent weakness to the Neato FW update process. I regularly update FW in many devices (Satellite receiver, computers, cell phones, SSD) and while I have seen singular instances of incompatibility I've never seen anything so randomly hit-and-miss flakey as a Neato FW upgrade.
jgo
 
Posts: 13
Joined: May 23rd, 2011, 7:00 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby dinkydong » November 11th, 2011, 6:13 am

I've experienced the same problem. I suspect it could be due to an incompatible driver with certain hardware. Your best bet is to try a different computer, i.e. one that uses a different hardware setup. Just my 2 cents.
User avatar
dinkydong
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 253
Joined: July 16th, 2006, 11:20 pm
Location: Singapore

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby MichBill » November 11th, 2011, 4:10 pm

I have also had this 2.4 failure to download with everything that i tried (different machine, different browser, different cables, different usb ports, repeated re-installation of the software).

Neato support logged onto my machine yesterday and spent about 45 minutes looking for a problem. He also could not get it to download. He concluded that there was some issue with the usb port on the robot. He was going to consult with some other people and get back to me with possible solutions. I'll pass them along when I hear form them.
MichBill
 
Posts: 3
Joined: October 27th, 2011, 8:30 pm

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby xPilZit_xs » November 12th, 2011, 10:14 am

Hello Everyone,

i think regarding the failed update you are all barking up the wrong tree branch.

I have this issue myself at the moment with my current recently replaced brand new neato. The same issue happened with the older previous one.
Yesterday i had a support specialist remote into my computer to solve the issue.
The problem is: neato fails to communicate with windows through the serial interface over USB. Thats it.
No wrong router no wrong browser nothing else.

You can test it yourself. You can check if the neato communicates with windows when you get the software "Hyper terminal" or "Hyperterm" which was part of older windows other terminal software should do too.
Anyway just setup a standard connection and leave all technical settings at default. you dont have to touch anything.
Once the connection is established as seen in the status bar at the bottom of the window, press "g" or "h".
If nothing is printed on the terminal screen after this you have the same issue as i do.
Otherwise i assume you start seeing stuff there.

Neato is looking into it. I suppose there might be a compatibility problem of the computer chipset's usb ports?

Whoever has issues as described please let list which computer chipsets you use to update the neato!
Maybe thats a culprit.

regards
xPilZit_xs
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 12th, 2011, 10:01 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby Fraggboy » November 12th, 2011, 11:07 am

xPilZit_xs,

Welcome to Robot Reviews!


What did the support specialist do on your computer to solve it?
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3639
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In the USA

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby xPilZit_xs » November 12th, 2011, 3:48 pm

He or She tried to communicate with the robot through the terminal software which is probably a way to access it and control it.
And it failed, now the question is why?

Will see soon what the problem was.
xPilZit_xs
 
Posts: 5
Joined: November 12th, 2011, 10:01 am

Re: Neato upgrade fails

Postby vic7767 » November 12th, 2011, 4:14 pm

I used Teraterm and Realterm to talk to the Neato through the USB cable. It worked. But the updater would not talk to the Neato until I removed the wireless router. I updated three Neatos using three different computers via two different Windows platforms. Win 7 and Win XP (SP3) One computer is a Lenovo, one a Compaq, and one a Dell. None work until the router was pulled.

Used IE9, Mozilla Firefox, and Safari, all three work.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11922
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Next

Return to Neato Robotics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: eric0208, johnnyh, vic7767 and 203 guests