Spring repair help

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Spring repair help

Postby dude123 » November 28th, 2011, 10:43 am

To Vic and other Neato expert here,

I am a newbie and try to do the repair myself, two questions:

1) in order to drill the hole and reconnect the spring,
does the whole front side needs to be removed? Or I can just remove
the wheels and do it from down under?

2) is there a strict rule where should I drill the hole,
only on the metal part? or the plastic part is OK too?

Sorry for the noob questions, any detail help how this should be done are welcomed :roll:
dude123

Re: Spring repair help

Postby vic7767 » November 28th, 2011, 12:50 pm

The eyelet installation should be performed as close to the break as possible and in the same line with where the original path of the spring was. You can see more info on my website here:
http://www.vic7767.com/neato-xv-11-mods ... any-parts/
Last edited by vic7767 on June 17th, 2012, 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
vic7767
Robot Master

Postby dude123 » November 28th, 2011, 6:01 pm

Hi Vic,
I already read your site, it is helpful, I just need more detail. Would you mind answering my specific questions again? Thank you!
dude123

Postby vic7767 » November 28th, 2011, 7:30 pm

1) It is better to dis-assemble the robot to enable easy access to the portion of the plastic frame to drill a hole for mounting the spring. It is a personal choice as to how easy you want the mod to be.

2) I always drilled into the plastic, never into any metal.parts.
vic7767
Robot Master

Postby dude123 » November 29th, 2011, 10:33 am

Thank you for the answer, Vic. Btw, just curious how reliable is the mod? Did you Neato work perfectly ever since? Is the plastic part *hard* enough to endure the hole in long term?
dude123

Postby vic7767 » November 29th, 2011, 11:17 am