Neato with a Voltage Monitor

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » May 26th, 2012, 8:25 pm

You knew it was coming, the Neato also needs an instant voltage display mod just because.
Attachments
NVM.gif
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » May 28th, 2012, 11:56 am

I would like it with a shunt and switch added for selectable vacuum current filter monitoring.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » May 28th, 2012, 12:25 pm

I can offer you a meter then you can build your own display choice. Send me an email or PM for price.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » May 28th, 2012, 12:33 pm

That Neato picks up interesting debris into the dust bin.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby chris-s » May 28th, 2012, 2:51 pm

Is this voltage monitor really useful ?
And why the batteries are in the dust bin place ?
Chris, FRANCE
Neato XV-15 since May 4, 2012
Scooba 230 since May 31, 2012
Braava 380 since May 25, 2013
Botvac 85 since September 30, 2014
User avatar
chris-s
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 208
Joined: May 1st, 2012, 4:41 am
Location: FRANCE

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » May 28th, 2012, 3:06 pm

chris-s wrote:Is this voltage monitor really useful ?
And why the batteries are in the dust bin place ?


Of course it's useful if you're interested in battery levels as well as when the Neato decides to return to its charging station. This Neato is in a stage of dis-assembly during the dc meter installation so it was just easier to connect the batteries for demonstration purposes.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » May 28th, 2012, 8:47 pm

Neato Robotics posted a comment recently that installing higher capacity Nickel batteries would not increase run time with software used. An interesting question then is whether the converse is true: if the batteries lose capacity, say with age, does the Neato keep running the same time thereby over-running the reserve required to return to dock? The volt meter could reveal all sorts of things.

I wonder just how sophisticated is Neato's calculation of battery reserve for return. Does it take into account the actual capacity of the battery as it ages? Does it see differences in power requirements of return through different environments, carpets and hard floors? Does it adjust requirements on close proximity to the base, where they might be reduced? Does it remember performance of the battery and adjust interpretation of sensor data accordingly? Some of the docking failure problems suggest there might be a few things missing in the present calculations. I would not be surprised to see future improvements. Multi-run recharge docking is a major Neato feature promoted in advertising, after all, much more critical than little details about how precise it maneuvers through corners.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » June 5th, 2012, 4:46 pm

Any recommended tools for cutting out the case neatly would be interesting.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » June 5th, 2012, 5:36 pm

I outline the shape of the meter with a Sharpie, use a drill bit (1/4") to drill out an opening in all 4 corners inside the outline. Then use a Dremel with a cutting wheel to follow the lines drawn between the 4 holes. Final finish is done using selections from your favorite Needle file set. A lot of final filing and test fittings are required for a tight fit.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » June 6th, 2012, 2:56 am

That is an impressive fine skill with the Dremel cutter. Got 1 3/4" saw blade for it might work as well, but better practice on other plastic first. They said works best at high speed. Inexpensive.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby mfortuna » June 6th, 2012, 8:06 am

If you have a steady hand an xacto knife is good for carving plastic.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » June 10th, 2012, 6:52 pm

How did you attach the meter to the Neato power lines or whatever? Any useful parts?
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » June 10th, 2012, 7:20 pm

No parts, just a straight splice to the two leads on top of the circuit board.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby kevinlongisland » June 11th, 2012, 8:51 pm

Vic, any useful data yet from your voltage monitor? I'm wondering if neato clock reset results from a low battery, and neato claims installing a higher capacity battery won't let it run any longer, does that mean a higher capacity battery might solve the clock reset issue???
kevinlongisland
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: November 10th, 2011, 8:41 am

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » June 11th, 2012, 9:02 pm

Good questions that will have an answer once the meter modded chassis is installed on a working Neato.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby kevinlongisland » June 11th, 2012, 9:46 pm

Has no one successfully installed and run a higher capacity battery yet to see if it resolves the clock reset issue? And possibly RPS error (someone somewhere mentioned RPS error could be linked to low voltage as well)?
kevinlongisland
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: November 10th, 2011, 8:41 am

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » June 11th, 2012, 9:58 pm

I'm not sure a higher capacity battery is the cure for RPS errors since the Lidar runs on 3.3 or 5 vdc depending on what model you have. I have several different Neato models now that have (so far) not run into RPS errors or clock reset errors at all. Of course this is using just the stock battery sets.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby kevinlongisland » June 12th, 2012, 10:16 am

Vic, does your cleaning run require at least one return to base for charging? Have you had any clock reset issues with any of your neatos?
kevinlongisland
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 56
Joined: November 10th, 2011, 8:41 am

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby vic7767 » June 12th, 2012, 12:22 pm

Yes, both the XV-12 and XV-21 return to their charging base for a top off prior to continuing on their cleaning job.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14370
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Neato with a Voltage Monitor

Postby glnc222 » June 19th, 2012, 11:23 pm

Possible multimeter to mount with innards separated from it's case: ebay listing
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Digital-19-Range-Pocket-Volt-Ohm-Amp-AC-DC-Multimeter-Probes-USA-Ship-/120935456278?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c28509e16
gives the specifications but also cheaper at
http://www.ebay.com/itm/LCD-Digital-19-Range-Pocket-Volt-Ohm-Amp-AC-DC-Multimeter-Probes-USA-Ship-/120935456278?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item1c28509e16
both U.S.
Takes 9V maybe supplied by a three 3v coin batteries for compactness.
Perhaps a switch accessed through inside of the dust bin compartment could select between a couple prewired functions.

2.5" wide so display larger than Vic's voltmeter?

What do you think?
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4538
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Next

Return to Neato Robotics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allidad, Harry007x1, TechGuy and 349 guests