factory settings

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 25th, 2013, 12:29 pm

Our neato XV-11 seems to run very short routes instead of taking the long way runs to clean. Does anyone know how to clear ALL the memory from it's memory bank? I have tried to let it's battery run down and then reset all directions, but that didn't work, relocated it's base and that didn't work either.
Thanks
please send answer to..
tnjranch@aol.com
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby JEfromCanada » January 25th, 2013, 4:17 pm

Neato doesn't "remember" its route from mission to mission, so there is nothing to "reset" in terms of how it determines its path.
Current robots:
Roomba Discovery 4210 (not connected)
Roomba 560 (not connected)
Neato XV-11 SW version 3.1.17844, LDS version 2.6.15295, with Pet Brush and Vic's filter
JEfromCanada
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 441
Joined: November 13th, 2007, 5:16 pm
Location: Canada

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 25th, 2013, 7:33 pm

Well, he runs everyday and every day, he makes very short runs in an area where he could run 25 to 30 feet in a straight line but nope, dummy continues to make very short sweeps. Also, will hit nothing and continue to go back and forth, back and forh until I push it a few inches, then it starts up again. I WISH there WAS a way to rest his memory to erase ebvwrything because he sweeps the same way every day the same way... oh well, wifes problem, not mine, just was trying to ease my frustration.
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby Osteo » January 26th, 2013, 10:27 am

You can try starting him from a different position.

After some trial and error, I've found that if I start Nu-Nu from the base, he frequently fails, but if we start him about 2m away facing in a certain position, he runs great with no problems and still ends up charging on the base when done. I know its supposed to be a "fire and forget" type thing, but in our home setup, we have to take the extra step of manually starting him but its worth it for us.

Starting from a different position may give your Neato a different path for its runs. Also, as others have said, it will sometimes take off in different paths on its own at times. We see that with different patterns in the carpet sometimes (vertical vs oblique or horizontal tracks) as well. Hope this helps!
Osteo
 
Posts: 22
Joined: October 1st, 2011, 10:04 am

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 10:30 am

Tried moving him too, a couple of times, also left him unplugged for a few day to let his battery run down, still does the VERY short runs like always, oh well... guess he'll just have to keep taking those short steps...
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby a4refillpad » January 26th, 2013, 1:41 pm

What's the firmware? If it's not the latest (3.1), you could try upgrading it to see whether it helps?
current bots: Clebo Arte, Vorwerk VR-100 (one broken one new), Neato XV-25, Neato XV-12, Roomba 564, Evo Mint 2, Roomba 770, Hauzen VC-RE70V, Samsung SR8980, Karcher RC3000, Robomow RL350 (lawnmower)
previous bots: Samsung SR8845, Neato XV-15
User avatar
a4refillpad
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 400
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 7:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: factory settings

Postby a4refillpad » January 26th, 2013, 1:41 pm

(Duplicated post deleted)
Last edited by a4refillpad on January 26th, 2013, 7:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
current bots: Clebo Arte, Vorwerk VR-100 (one broken one new), Neato XV-25, Neato XV-12, Roomba 564, Evo Mint 2, Roomba 770, Hauzen VC-RE70V, Samsung SR8980, Karcher RC3000, Robomow RL350 (lawnmower)
previous bots: Samsung SR8845, Neato XV-15
User avatar
a4refillpad
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 400
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 7:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 3:04 pm

Done went and did that already... maybe I will waterboard it......
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby vic7767 » January 26th, 2013, 4:05 pm

Have you measured the battery voltage of each pack ? After a charge cycle each pack should measure at least 8 vdc.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11873
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: factory settings

Postby glnc222 » January 26th, 2013, 4:23 pm

How about measuring voltage after a run without the base present so it doesn't recharge, find out if the battery was really fully used? Have seen over a 1v drop in voltage on a full run. A very short run might show up noticeably different.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 1835
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: factory settings

Postby a4refillpad » January 26th, 2013, 7:38 pm

Guys, I think tnjranch was referring to "short runs" in how it tackles the layout if the room, not about how soon before running out of power...
current bots: Clebo Arte, Vorwerk VR-100 (one broken one new), Neato XV-25, Neato XV-12, Roomba 564, Evo Mint 2, Roomba 770, Hauzen VC-RE70V, Samsung SR8980, Karcher RC3000, Robomow RL350 (lawnmower)
previous bots: Samsung SR8845, Neato XV-15
User avatar
a4refillpad
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 400
Joined: March 23rd, 2012, 7:49 pm
Location: UK

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Your right, it makes a turn, runs about 2 feet, then turns back around to do another two foot run, instead of going in the other direction which would make about a 25 foot straight run.
I give up, It is just going to do what the stupid liitle brain says to do. It makes my wife happy when it cleans and if my wife is happy... then everybody is happy...
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 8:12 pm

Your right, it makes a turn, runs about 2 feet, then turns back around to do another two foot run, instead of going in the other direction which would make about a 25 foot straight run.
I give up, It is just going to do what the stupid liitle brain says to do. It makes my wife happy when it cleans and if my wife is happy... then everybody is happy...
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby vic7767 » January 26th, 2013, 8:21 pm

You're starting to describe the behavior of a Neato with a cliff sensor issue.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11873
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 8:23 pm

It may be truer than it knows, it may be headed for a cliff. No, it's another problem.. but. we're just going to live with it.. but thnaks for the reply
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm

Re: factory settings

Postby tnjranch » January 26th, 2013, 8:23 pm

It may be truer than it knows, it may be headed for a cliff. No, it's another problem.. but. we're just going to live with it.. but thnaks for the reply
tnjranch
 
Posts: 8
Joined: January 25th, 2013, 12:16 pm


Return to Neato Robotics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 911medic, djos, Fraggboy, mfortuna, neato, TechGuy, vic7767 and 165 guests