Wake Neato up from dead mode

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby mfortuna » August 1st, 2015, 8:50 am

If it is only a couple months old then contact Neato for warranty service.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby mmm2000 » August 9th, 2015, 7:17 pm

Update:

After several months of using the robot with the new capacitor, it still works great. If it gets stuck for a few hours, no problem. It wakes right up when I hit the start button.

Thank you again to the person who discovered this fix.
mmm2000
 
Posts: 29
Joined: February 8th, 2015, 3:14 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby jorgeli » August 11th, 2015, 7:08 am

It´s great that it could be solved to change capasitor.

I have tried many times with the USB trick , with varying results.

But the most effective for me is:

1. Plug in a USB charger to the USB post (do not plug it in the wall socket yet)
2. Hold in the start button on the NEato for a few seconds to do a soft reset.
3. When it is restart . Plug in the USB charger in the Wall socket. ( Be fast )

For me it has wake up in the first try everytime i done this procedure.
jorgeli
 
Posts: 41
Joined: July 17th, 2013, 3:47 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby Taxfree » August 12th, 2015, 4:22 am

I had the same dim green coma problem, I was about to replace the unit completely and only then found this thread... Replacing the c10 worked like a charm. I took it to the local electronics dealer in Amstelveen (Netherlands)who replaced it for me for 3 euros total (also about 3 dollars). Took it apart and assembled it myself. Worked instantly!

Because of a small communiaction problem it was replaced by a 50V 220uF, instead of the 35V I asked for. I hope that won't give any problems. It fits perfectly from a mechanical point of view :)
Taxfree
 
Posts: 1
Joined: August 11th, 2015, 2:20 pm

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby glnc222 » August 12th, 2015, 2:24 pm

Higher voltage rating is higher quality. The voltage refers to what level will damage the part. The failures may be due to under-rated parts or poor quality control. The charger supplies 24v, the battery only 16-17v max (lower as discharged).
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby Benzon » September 11th, 2015, 5:29 am

Hello,

I have the same problem, but with the old motherboard (Rev 113). Here I don't have the same capacitor. I have only five of them and not on C10. Do anyboday know, if I replace the five it will also help?
With which capacitor should I replace`?

Thank you very much in advance
Attachments
20150910_203533_resized.jpg
Benzon
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 11th, 2015, 5:24 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby glnc222 » September 11th, 2015, 12:37 pm

The rev64 board capacitor C10 was part of the power supply for the cpu and memory IC's, coming from a voltage regulator component. Something similar must exist on the older rev113 board with a different label. The cpu is different so there might be some variation, but voltage regulators are often supplemented with capacitors to smooth the output or whatever. Replacing all the caps should not cause a problem. More the merrier. The other caps are probably for motor power regulation or 5v power to sensors.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby vic7767 » September 11th, 2015, 12:53 pm

As you remove each capacitor on the Rev 113 board, read the value printed on the part and then once all caps that you want to replace have been removed and recorded, you can install the replacements all at one time.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14187
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby Medtech » September 14th, 2015, 4:10 am

unfortunately replacement capacitors can not be brought back to life Cruz fee, the board is often missing 5V and 3.3V. the photograph is 3 reactor at the top left of the board.
all capacitors in these chains ceramic, the controller power does not come on command. If you force the controller to activate the robot does not turn on the power, it is easier to change the board.
Thank you GOOGLE translator for the freedom of communication.
User avatar
Medtech
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 97
Joined: October 17th, 2014, 3:12 pm
Location: Moscow Russia

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby kafer1964 » October 5th, 2015, 5:02 am

Benzon wrote:Hello,

I have the same problem, but with the old motherboard (Rev 113). Here I don't have the same capacitor. I have only five of them and not on C10. Do anyboday know, if I replace the five it will also help?
With which capacitor should I replace`?

Thank you very much in advance

I have one of the old boards too, my son took it out last night. Question, will a newer board work as a replacement to the older board?
Present - XV-11(Robot B-9), XV-12(UniBlab), XV-14 (BeatNik), Scooba 380(Scrappy), Roomba 595(Robby), Mint 4200, Mint 5200
Past - Roomba 530(Alpha), Scooba 5800 (Scooby), 5900
User avatar
kafer1964
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 5:16 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby kafer1964 » October 5th, 2015, 6:28 am

Or better yet what kind of board can I put in to replace this board since it does not look like I can get a board just like it.
Present - XV-11(Robot B-9), XV-12(UniBlab), XV-14 (BeatNik), Scooba 380(Scrappy), Roomba 595(Robby), Mint 4200, Mint 5200
Past - Roomba 530(Alpha), Scooba 5800 (Scooby), 5900
User avatar
kafer1964
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 5:16 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby vic7767 » October 5th, 2015, 9:34 am

There are only two type boards. Rev 64 (newer models) and rev 113, (earlier models) When replacing, you must obtain the board with the same type of User interface ribbon cable. Early models used a friction / compression connector, later models use an actual pinned connector.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14187
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby kafer1964 » October 6th, 2015, 9:11 am

vic7767 wrote:There are only two type boards. Rev 64 (newer models) and rev 113, (earlier models) When replacing, you must obtain the board with the same type of User interface ribbon cable. Early models used a friction / compression connector, later models use an actual pinned connector.


Interesting mine looks like the one pictured above but has the pinned connector. It says rev 1 on the back.
Present - XV-11(Robot B-9), XV-12(UniBlab), XV-14 (BeatNik), Scooba 380(Scrappy), Roomba 595(Robby), Mint 4200, Mint 5200
Past - Roomba 530(Alpha), Scooba 5800 (Scooby), 5900
User avatar
kafer1964
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 5:16 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby kafer1964 » October 10th, 2015, 9:52 am

I went ahead and bought a used rev 113 from EBay. When it gets in and I do the transplant, I will post the results.
Present - XV-11(Robot B-9), XV-12(UniBlab), XV-14 (BeatNik), Scooba 380(Scrappy), Roomba 595(Robby), Mint 4200, Mint 5200
Past - Roomba 530(Alpha), Scooba 5800 (Scooby), 5900
User avatar
kafer1964
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 158
Joined: August 3rd, 2013, 5:16 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby grapedrink » December 13th, 2015, 12:25 am

Donkey wrote:FYI, I had the same issue. I replaced my standard 25v 100uF capacitor with a 25v 320uF capacitor for no other reason than it was the only one I had in the garage.

Seems to have fixed the problem...Neato is back to life.

I found this video very helpful. https://youtu.be/WR7yx-E1Y14. He used a 1000uF capacitor


Hi guys, according to this video, the Russian guy shows that you don't actually have to remove the existing capacitor. He just soldered the new one onto C3. Am I able to do that? I bought a 1000uF 35V capacitor, will it work if I just solder it onto C3?

Thanks for any help!!
grapedrink
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: March 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby mfortuna » December 13th, 2015, 9:47 am

As long as the existing cap is not shorted you should be fine.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5725
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby grapedrink » December 13th, 2015, 10:14 am

mfortuna wrote:As long as the existing cap is not shorted you should be fine.


No capacitors are shorted from what I have noticed. I just thought that this method looked easier and no need to remove the motherboard, just solder the 1000uf 35v capacitor I have onto C3. Hope its that straightforward!
grapedrink
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: March 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby grapedrink » December 13th, 2015, 6:25 pm

Also thought I'd throw this out there. If there's anyone in Australia reading this that is comfortable with replacing the capacitor, I'd be happy to mail you my motherboard and capacitor and be charged whatever you think is fair to do the job :)

Thanks!

Edit: Found someone close by who can do it for me :)

Going to replace C10 with a 220uf/35V capacitor.
grapedrink
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: March 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby grapedrink » December 16th, 2015, 6:34 am

Good news! Replacing the C10 has worked for me :)

I had one small hiccup though. While re-assembling, I missed this plastic part:

http://imgur.com/I7PCSu6

Can I get away with not bothering about it?
grapedrink
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: March 5th, 2012, 7:11 am

Re: Wake Neato up from dead mode

Postby glnc222 » December 16th, 2015, 12:57 pm

You should have that part somewhere. This is the grate which fits in a slot behind the dust bin against which the filter will be pressed by suction. It just slides in. You can make a replacement any number of ways I imagine.
Since the filter is also clipped into the bin perhaps it is superfluous, don't know. Perhaps the frame on an old filter could be used, have to check.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4179
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

PreviousNext

Return to Neato Robotics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 221 guests