Neato XV Signature blank screen: capacitor or LCD?

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Neato XV Signature blank screen: capacitor or LCD?

Postby Gilthorx » July 23rd, 2017, 11:49 am

Hello,

I have read many posts on this (and other) forums reporting the same problem: blank (illuminated screen) on my Neato XV Signature. It was purchased in August 2014 and this started in May 2017. The robot does not move, just bips and lights change from green to orange, depending on what button I press.

Many people have solved this problem by replacing the C10 capacitor (and sometimes replacing all capacitors) on the motherboard.

I did order a set of 5 capacitors (Panasonic ECA1VM221 220UF, 35V), recommended on some forums. I have therefore replaced 5 out of the 7 capacitors, leaving "only" the original twin capacitors (those next to one another).

My problem remains the same. Still no life, illuminated screen with no text, green or orange light depending on the timing, and bips. Therefore, my problem is either coming from one of the remaining 2 capacitors (I would be unlucky...) or from something else. With the Neato Control software, I can see the following lines:

519,LS_PINKY_MSG_SIZE_MISMATCH,29,1,1,0x000000000000001d,0x000000000000001d
519,LS_PINKY_BAD_CMD_BYTE,1,1,1,0x0000000000000001,0x0000000000000001
519,LS_PINKY_INVALID_MESSAGE,286,1,1,0x000000000000011e,0x000000000000011e
519,LS_PinkyErr_eErrFlagLCDOverrun,1,1,1,0x0000000000000001,0x0000000000000001

Could my problem be actually the LCD screen? Before spending $70 on this, I'd like to make sure that the odds are high it is the culprit. How do you read the above lines?

Thanks for all the messages I have read so far!
Gilthorx
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 23rd, 2017, 11:32 am

Re: Neato XV Signature blank screen: capacitor or LCD?

Postby glnc222 » July 23rd, 2017, 1:54 pm

The C10 capacitor was for a different problem of the unit not powering up properly from defective cpu power, perhaps not delivering any message to the LCD. LCD's especially in the XV models have failed on their own and need replacement or replacement of the LCD component detailed in another thread on "cheap LCD", requiring some technical skill. Some replacements may appear on ebay from time to time.
http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=19263&p=144611&hilit=cheap+LCD#p144611
On some units with a blank LCD, commands can still be issued over the USB connection and the robot still cleans, pressing the start button -- the display component alone is not working internally.
The smaller and color Botvac LCD is a newer part and not reported failing.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4582
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.

Re: Neato XV Signature blank screen: capacitor or LCD?

Postby matthetem » July 26th, 2017, 11:18 am

glnc222 wrote:The C10 capacitor was for a different problem of the unit not powering up properly from defective cpu power, perhaps not delivering any message to the LCD. LCD's especially in the XV models have failed on their own and need replacement or replacement of the LCD component detailed in another thread on "cheap LCD", requiring some technical skill. Some replacements may appear on ebay from time to time.
http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?f=20&t=19263&p=144611&hilit=cheap+LCD#p144611
On some units with a blank LCD, commands can still be issued over the USB connection and the robot still cleans, pressing the start button -- the display component alone is not working internally.
The smaller and color Botvac LCD is a newer part and not reported failing.

I've also done some searching online and noted the Neato XV series generally tend to have screen problems or dimmed screen issues. Thanks for recommending the Botvac series. I think I'll go with that one.
matthetem
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 10th, 2017, 2:11 pm

Re: Neato XV Signature blank screen: capacitor or LCD?

Postby glnc222 » July 26th, 2017, 1:37 pm

The newest models D3, D5 deploy the ultimate solution: eliminate the on board display altogether and use the more powerful screen on a smartphone. The original Connected is more expensive partly for the LCD still supplied.
But be careful what you wish for: all the WiFi connection problems reported, reliance on remote servers etc. Still the only way to go for more elaborate controls, future advances, like mapping displays. I prefer the IR remotes and the LCD display, till they get the smartphone right, but am not using WiFi much at home. Most of them do seem to work though, or they could not sell at all.
glnc222
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4582
Joined: January 23rd, 2012, 9:19 pm
Location: North Carolina, U.S.


Return to Neato Robotics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: inetchik, longerski, Snokia, susantx3 and 310 guests