Neato D85 fan issue

News and information about the Neato XV-11 Robotic Vacuum. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Neato D85 fan issue

Postby benpieter » July 29th, 2018, 4:28 am

Dear all,

I got a Neato D85 from a friend of mine. Apparently it had water damage, so typically the fan is likely malfunctioning. So it tested it with an old fan from a neato XV i got laying around, model type BCB1012UH (not the A type). not working.

I cannot imagine this model would not work by a setmotor command by neato control from the mainboard. Any insights here?

The output of neato control shows that the VacuumCurrent=mA is much higher than zero (not in test, no setmotor command given). should it be zero? So what I'm wondering is, is this a typical capacitor issue of one the capacitors on the mainboard, or is the output value normal?
I have no experience in what normal values should be. I will show the complete output of neato control shortly.

Any insight or help would much be appreciated! :-)
benpieter

Re: Neato D85 fan issue

Postby benpieter » August 13th, 2018, 11:07 am

Issue solved. Even though nobody helped me out, I figured it out myself. To increase the knowledge on fan issues: I found out the previous owner used a fan from a Neato XV, which amperage is too high (3.8A), and caused a main board failure. I replaced a r100 capacitor and bought a fan with the -a designation (amperage is 3,45A) and now it works again. This also means the Botvac series should not use the Neato XV fan’s!

Verzonden vanaf mijn iPhone met Tapatalk
benpieter

Postby mfortuna » August 13th, 2018, 2:33 pm

Thanks for sharing your solution. I am surprised that an extra 0.35A caused an issue. The design should have more margin than that.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
mfortuna
Robot Master

Postby benpieter » August 13th, 2018, 2:40 pm