Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby bhylak » January 2nd, 2011, 9:43 pm

No problem.
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby crypted » December 10th, 2012, 12:29 pm

Has anyone attempted to use Roomba Status with Ubuntu or another Linux distro to control via Bluetooth and/or USB?

I'm curious what libraries have to be added to Wine if any...
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby vic7767 » December 10th, 2012, 2:32 pm

I have not but I suspect that the .Net software was used to build the interface.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14962
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby crypted » December 11th, 2012, 12:29 am

Anyone have ideas of what version of .Net Framework and any other parts involved?

I see Wine has all .Net Framework packages working for Linux...
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami, FL

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby bhylak » June 4th, 2013, 2:00 pm

It seems like its been a very long time since Roomba Status has been developed. There are now tons of alternatives, on Linux and Otherwise.

I'm a big fan of Roborealm, and it runs perfectly with Wine even on small computers like the Pi.

Here's an open source Linux compatible program: http://playerstage.sourceforge.net

Some more linux based stuff, and a link to a great book: http://hackingroomba.com/code/embedded-linux/

Like I said, I personally prefer Roborealm. Even past the basic control, its one of the most powerful vision processors that can run on an off the shelf processor. The webservers pretty sweet also.

Ben
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby Guiyoforward » July 14th, 2014, 9:38 pm

Hi everyone, sorry to resurrect such an old thread but I had an issue with mscomm32 in Windows 7 x64 professional and solved it, hope this helps:
I copied the mscomm32.ocx file to the windows\system32, opened a command prompt as administrator, and got an error message (it would not register). So I copied the mscomm32.ocx from the system32 folder to the windows\sysWOW64 folder. I was then able to go to the C:\Windows\SysWOW64 folder and run the regsvr32.exe
(copied from some random website).
By the way, is there an update to the roomba status program, or is there any newer equivalent program for windows? Thanks!
Last edited by Guiyoforward on July 15th, 2014, 12:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Guiyoforward
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 30th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby vic7767 » July 14th, 2014, 9:54 pm

What Windows version did you do this on ? There has been no activity to improve/upgrade the Roomba Status program to support the R3 Roombas, only the R2 Discovery model.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14962
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby Guiyoforward » July 15th, 2014, 11:59 am

Hi, sorry, should have specified it (edited for completeness). Windows 7 x64 professional.
Guiyoforward
 
Posts: 10
Joined: June 30th, 2014, 10:57 pm

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby vic7767 » July 15th, 2014, 12:11 pm

Thanks for that info. The reason I asked is that in Win 7 Ultimate there is no SysWow64 folder just Sys64.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14962
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby mfortuna » July 15th, 2014, 5:16 pm

vic7767 wrote:What Windows version did you do this on ? There has been no activity to improve/upgrade the Roomba Status program to support the R3 Roombas, only the R2 Discovery model.


It supports any R2 robot with SCI firmware, but the graphics just show a Discovery. I have used it with a create, red, and dirtdog.

We asked the author to make the source available but he refused.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5844
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby daufhammer » March 11th, 2019, 1:36 am

Hey All,

I know this is a super old thread, but I found the fix for the missing MSCOMM32.OCX error I was getting when trying to run this program in Windows 10.

Seems like Windows 10 doesn't have this older visual basic serial communications file anymore so you have to manually add that file and then add it to the registry. After much googling, I found the file and some easy instructions on someone's github page...
https://github.com/davidanger/mscomm32

Follow the instructions in the readme file.

The part that tripped me up at first was step 3... you have to download the Regedit_MSCOMM32.reg also, then double click it... this actually adds a the MSCOMM32 file to the registry.

Once I did all that, the program started up with no problems and I successfully connected to my roomba via serial.

Hope that helps someone!
daufhammer
 
Posts: 1
Joined: March 11th, 2019, 1:28 am

Previous

Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: BrettS, doublem, fufu, jdong, johnnyh, lanchez, leonicholson, Miles267, Russo221, vic7767, wassct and 396 guests