Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby bhylak » February 26th, 2011, 4:51 pm

you wouldn't need to use VNC if you used RoboRealm. (If you choose to use it, i'll PM you some webserver files)

good points on the create. From what I understand, it would provide some Create functionality tho?
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » February 26th, 2011, 7:24 pm

I think the DO (digital out) and DI (digital in) functions are possible, the analog and PWM functions are harder. Driving type commands should work fine.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby bhylak » February 27th, 2011, 1:41 pm

Very nice. Also one last thing about RoboRealm... it has an integrated Java Camera feed which is pretty smooth.
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » February 27th, 2011, 2:42 pm

System test and integration complete! The Security Dawg lives. Insert madman wha-ha-ha here.

Thanks to Chris for the name and interest in the project. Thanks to suzibot for the donor dirt dog.

I did run into an issue that actually worked to my advantage. When I tested my digital outputs I measured the following when on:

D0 2.75V
D1 5.0V
D2 5.0V

D0 was used to turn on power to the prop board and camera. 2.75V was not high enough. So I swapped D2 and D0. The functions now are:

D0 - camera up
D1 - camera down
D2 - camera on

My algorithm relies on the digital out bit to be toggled to make the camera move. When I assert D0, which is the side brush on signal, the camera moves on its own. Either the side brush signal is PWM (toggling) or the 2.75V level fools the propeller chip into seeing both a high and low. I'm beginning to think maybe the side brush is PWM. 2.75V should be a good high in a 5V system.

The only other negative is I got a little careless carving out openings for the power wire and servo rod. They ended up a little bit bigger than needed. :roll:
Attachments
dawg 003.jpg
System checkout
dawg 004.jpg
Power supply and servo control PCB install
dawg 005.jpg
Camera tilt servo
dawg 006.jpg
Security Dawg
Last edited by mfortuna on February 28th, 2011, 7:38 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » February 27th, 2011, 2:57 pm

Here's an outside view from the security dawg. Hoping spring gets here soon!
Attachments
security dawg.JPG
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby bhylak » February 27th, 2011, 5:17 pm

All of the wind/rain took away the snow for us. :)

From what I have read, the robot is controlled via bluetooth... So it is connected to an external computer? (A server) which is then connected to the web.
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » February 27th, 2011, 8:01 pm

Yes, I vnc into my home computer. Then I start up roomba status and use that to drive the roomba. I will have to try the webserver function in roomba status. The second step is to use a browser to open the camera.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby bhylak » February 27th, 2011, 8:32 pm

You can't drive with the webserver though.
Ben

Homemade Telepresence Robot:
http://mayarover.blogspot.com/
http://www.instructables.com/id/MAYA-Te ... nce-Rover/

There are only 10 types of people in the world. Those who understand binary and those who don't
User avatar
bhylak
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1638
Joined: October 17th, 2009, 7:30 pm

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby Fraggboy » February 28th, 2011, 7:48 pm

:clap: Excellent Job Mike!! That picture of the outside is scary looking tho!! It's too white!! :lol:

Stay warm, and again, Congrats on an awesome job!
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby sageman » March 1st, 2011, 2:41 pm

good job

(off topic) just wondering how deep is the snow there
400/disco disassembly's (everything down to the PCB)
http://www.robotreviews.com/wiki/400disco-disassembly

one day many years from now a person will say "right I'll just ROOMBA downstairs" instead of hoover
oh wait I already do :)

main bot: neato xv-15 (Europe xv-11)
to sell (one day): roomba sage and silver (both 400's)
User avatar
sageman
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: May 10th, 2010, 2:10 am
Location: norfolk uk

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » March 1st, 2011, 3:38 pm

Almost 90 inches total, some has melted though.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby sageman » March 1st, 2011, 4:19 pm

:liar: lol

thats loads i mean just loads i cant comprehend wow
400/disco disassembly's (everything down to the PCB)
http://www.robotreviews.com/wiki/400disco-disassembly

one day many years from now a person will say "right I'll just ROOMBA downstairs" instead of hoover
oh wait I already do :)

main bot: neato xv-15 (Europe xv-11)
to sell (one day): roomba sage and silver (both 400's)
User avatar
sageman
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: May 10th, 2010, 2:10 am
Location: norfolk uk

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » March 1st, 2011, 10:47 pm

Thanks to Ben for recommending roborealm. The program works very nice. My next step will be to set up a webserver but this is what I have so far for local control. Took a little over an hour to figure everything out. I can drive, turn on the camera and tilt it up and down. I opened up the keyboard and roomba settings so readers can see the values.

One of my other interests, vintage computers, is the video subject.
Attachments
roborealm.JPG
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby Fraggboy » March 2nd, 2011, 12:02 am

That's crazy!! I remember my first computer, an intel 8088. I owned a Tandy TRS-80, a commodore 64, and an Apple 2c.
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » March 2nd, 2011, 12:12 am

I had a TRS80, which was my first computer back in '77 or 78, followed by an Apple IIe and a Mac SE. I own them all again now, and paid a lot less then when they were new.

Maybe 30 years from now I will have a vintage roomba :)
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby Fraggboy » March 2nd, 2011, 12:48 am

I remember reading DOS programs from magazines, and typing away to play the game/program. Those were the days!!
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby TechGuy » March 2nd, 2011, 12:50 am

Sorry for this off topic post...
My first computer was a first generation Commordore PET. Then, the second one is TRS80 Model 1. I hacked the TRS-80 ROM to dual boot CPM and TRS80 OS. NVRAM was not available at that time. It will be expensive if they are available back then, I burnt a new EPROM after I made a mistake. It was time consuming if one does not have in-circuit emulator...
Charging battery directly: 400 Series, 500 Series,. How to Desolder
For Sale: Black CHM 2 Ball Bearings set
User avatar
TechGuy
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1494
Joined: February 17th, 2009, 11:52 pm

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby vic7767 » March 2nd, 2011, 12:54 am

And putting the whole program into one Kilobyte of RAM then saving the program on a casette tape.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14371
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby sageman » March 2nd, 2011, 2:12 am

talking of duel booting at this very second im about to restart my comp to put mac lepard on me laptop
400/disco disassembly's (everything down to the PCB)
http://www.robotreviews.com/wiki/400disco-disassembly

one day many years from now a person will say "right I'll just ROOMBA downstairs" instead of hoover
oh wait I already do :)

main bot: neato xv-15 (Europe xv-11)
to sell (one day): roomba sage and silver (both 400's)
User avatar
sageman
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1475
Joined: May 10th, 2010, 2:10 am
Location: norfolk uk

Re: Budget ConnectR / Rovio

Postby mfortuna » March 12th, 2011, 7:01 pm

Here's roborealm's webserver. I tweaked some of the controls to the left of the image to be camera controls. I have to create the proper icons for the camera up, down, and on/off buttons. I don't like the way the roomba drives via the web interface but I think I can make changes to the control program to fix that.

The roomba red in the picture is resting up for its next mission.
Attachments
webserver.JPG
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5767
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

PreviousNext

Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: doublem, Franzl, mfortuna, Snokia and 369 guests