iRobot Create (2)

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

iRobot Create (2)

Postby vic7767 » December 18th, 2014, 4:52 pm

Received the iRobot Create-2 via UPS today. This robot is a re-manufactured Roomba 650 with a new decorator ring, a Grey CHM without the cleaning brush set and no brush retainer. Also missing is the side brush. The side brush module is installed just no side brush or mounting screw. The unit comes with a universal PSU (110-220), a home base, a USB (UART) cable with a nice 90 degree mini din 7 pin connector and a 3 amp battery. All documentation is available online in PDF format at the iRobot website. The Create-2 is offered on the iRobot website for $199 plus shipping. Right now free shipping is offered.
Attachments
IMG_0079.JPG
Create-2 Underside
IMG_0077.JPG
Create-2 topside with USB cable, PSU and Homebase
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14302
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby mfortuna » December 18th, 2014, 8:02 pm

IMHO it is not a Create, just a refurbished cleaner with a USB cable.

Irobot could offer just the cable and call it a Create upgrade. And surely (stop calling me Shirley) they could have left out the CHM and cut the cost.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby vic7767 » December 18th, 2014, 8:28 pm

I agree Mike. The blue outer shell of the brush deck module is all that is necessary to use to keep the dust bin in place. There is more time required to perform that removal than just popping out the brushes and brush cage though so it appears it was a time and cost savings to do what they did.

The new cable does have an issue though. When plugged into the SCI the UART is only active for about 10 seconds then shuts down. The iRobot instructions mention that the BRC (Baud Rate Change) pin 5 must be grounded to keep the robot awake. I wire pins 5 & 6 together on the cables I build. That simulates the Device Detect function and works really well on single button Roombas and the Dirt Dog. The SCI port wakes up but the robot does not start a mission. Normally when the Clean button is pressed on a Dirt Dog a cleaning session starts right away but my modded cable causes the Clean button to turn on and the SCI port turns on and sends some text with "Device Detect" contained in the message.

Some folks could head for ebay, find a set of brushes, brush guard, and a side brush and have a working 650 for a lot less than the 650 retail.

One point though - Since this Create (2) is re-manufactured there is no warranty with it.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14302
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby Daniel-Muci » September 12th, 2015, 1:20 pm

I don's seem to be able to get any battery power from Create 2. I spliced the original cable it came with, and tried to use the power from red/purple(+) and yellow/orange(-) to power a Raspberry Pi2, with no luck. While the serial-to-USB cable still works, and I am able to command the robot via Python, there seems to be no power coming on the red/purple cables. I tried with a multimeter with no luck, even as I moved the device from passive/safe/full modes. There is no power even when Create 2 is charging/docked.
Daniel-Muci
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 12th, 2015, 1:07 pm

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby vic7767 » September 12th, 2015, 2:17 pm

Can you measure voltage right at the 7 pin mini din connector ? I can read battery voltage when reading pins 1 & 2 ( + ) and 6 & 7 ( - ).
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14302
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby mfortuna » September 15th, 2015, 6:49 am

Isn't there a resetable fuse between the battery and DIN connector? Maybe it has blown for good.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: iRobot Create

Postby Alex2100Power » September 20th, 2015, 8:04 am

Roomba Chaser
Things:IR beacon,IR receiver,soft for Create or Rasp Pi.
How:1-Fit the beacon into the Roomba's dustbin
2-fit the receiver on the Create
3-Program the Create to chase the beacon.
And it will chase the Roomba 500/600/400 :-)!!!
Alex2100Power
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 20th, 2015, 2:02 am

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby vic7767 » September 20th, 2015, 4:08 pm

The Create (2) does not have the programmable microcontroller like the original Create so it is basically not able to run the same programs from the Create.

There is a controller that can be connected to the Create (2) using the SCI 7 pin mini din to execute programs that you write or build. Folks use the Arduino, Beaglebone, Raspberry pi, Intel Edison, and EZB to accomplish what you are asking. Additional space can be gained by removing the vacuum dust bin and purchase the optional dust bin without a vacuum motor.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14302
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby _Thiet_ » October 1st, 2015, 4:22 am

Hi,

I recently purchased my first iRobot Create 2.
I've been trying to communicate with it via the provided Mini-DIN serial to USB cable.
I've tried by running python code using pyserial on a Raspberry Pi and on a Mac running OS X 10.10, following serial configuration information provided in the following document:
http://www.irobot.com/~/media/MainSite/ ... e_Spec.pdf

I've been able to get the Create to perform commands I send (Start, Clean, Seek Dock, ...).
I haven't been so successful at getting data from the Create. For instance, when I send the OI Mode command to get the current mode (Off, Passive, Safe, or Full), I expect to get the mode value via a serial read after writing the request command but my reads time out.

After researching the Web, I'm still without a solution.
Has somebody had to deal with similar issues?
I would greatly appreciate it if somebody could help me with this.

Thanks!
_Thiet_
 
Posts: 1
Joined: October 1st, 2015, 3:38 am

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby mfortuna » October 1st, 2015, 6:29 am

I don't know if it applies to python but you have to put the serial port in raw mode to get status back via the shell. This worked for me:

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=18282&p=128516&hilit=intel+edison#p128516
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: iRobot Create (2)

Postby topherCantrell » September 24th, 2016, 11:53 am

Daniel-Muci wrote:I don's seem to be able to get any battery power from Create 2. I spliced the original cable it came with, and tried to use the power from red/purple(+) and yellow/orange(-) to power a Raspberry Pi2, with no luck. While the serial-to-USB cable still works, and I am able to command the robot via Python, there seems to be no power coming on the red/purple cables. I tried with a multimeter with no luck, even as I moved the device from passive/safe/full modes. There is no power even when Create 2 is charging/docked.


I cut the cable that came with my Create 2 and attached female jumper wires. I used a continuity check between the raw wires and the header pins in the connector. All the wires connect to the header EXCEPT the two power pins. They are not physically connected in the cable. I cut the cable close to the header. The purple and red wires (the power) pull right out of the head. They aren't connected. The other wires are fastened tightly. I am going to order a new cable from Adafruit. https://www.adafruit.com/products/2438
topherCantrell
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 24th, 2016, 11:47 am


Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Tofu, vic7767 and 357 guests