Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby gayuha » September 22nd, 2015, 7:24 am

Hi everybody.
I try to send some commands to my Roomba using FT232RL USB to Serial converter.
I connected Tx, Rx, and RTS on the chip to Rx, Tx, and DD on the Roomba, respectively. Then I try to send commands:
128 131 to start and get into safe mode
135 to start cleaning
The robot simply does not react.
I am sure all the connections are correct. The FT232RL is set to 5v logic. I can see the LED on the chip flashing when I try to send a command, so the connection to the PC is OK.
I use Realterm on Windows 10.

Please help, I really want to make that robot move on command :)
gayuha
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 22nd, 2015, 6:59 am

Re: Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby vic7767 » September 22nd, 2015, 9:30 am

Place your Roomba on the charger and monitor the SCI port for the ASCII charging data that will be transmitted once per second. If you can receive data then you will be able to send data.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14371
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby gayuha » September 22nd, 2015, 10:03 am

I do get some data once a second while charging.

Image

But every time I get a framing error. You can see in the lower left corner of the picture. Seems not so well to me, is it?

EDIT: OK, managed to figure this out. I simply set the baud rate incorrectly.
gayuha
 
Posts: 2
Joined: September 22nd, 2015, 6:59 am

Re: Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby vic7767 » September 22nd, 2015, 10:36 am

Great! So nice when issues are discovered and resolved.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14371
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby soulhunter » September 12th, 2016, 2:28 pm

Have you been able to do something interesting with the 870? such as controlling it and stuff? I am on the fence about buying one and then modding it, but with was unable to find enough info about that particular model.

Thanks!
soulhunter
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 12th, 2016, 2:23 pm

Re: Roomba 870 Doesn't Respond to SCI Commands

Postby vic7767 » September 12th, 2016, 2:48 pm

The Open Interface commands are published in a PDF document that can be downloaded from the iRobot website. The 800 models use the same commands that are published in the 500 model Roomba Open Interface document.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14371
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA


Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: abs9986, vic7767 and 414 guests