Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby robo-dad » August 1st, 2017, 11:06 pm

Hi all. I'm new to the forum. I just picked up a Roomba 4210 and am looking to make some modifications. I read several of the posts and have discovered that I have one with an older firmware not capable of hacking. I saw some much older posts about getting upgrades. I have the parts to make the required cable to interface with my computer. Does anyone know where I can get the firmware and the process to make the upgrade?
I'm just stepping into this, so go easy on me :-).
Thanks.
robo-dad
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 1st, 2017, 8:21 pm

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby vic7767 » August 1st, 2017, 11:53 pm

How handy are you at tearing down your Roomba? If you can ship me your Roomba circuit board I can flash it with the OSMO hacker for a small fee. I don't mail out the OSMO hacker due to possible loss during shipping.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14594
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby robo-dad » August 6th, 2017, 6:02 pm

Thanks for the offer vic7767. Before I tear it down, I have another question. I just found a 4230 Scheduler with remote on ebay. Since I'm looking at getting another Roomba, I was wondering if this will solve my issue. Is it correct that with the scheduler remote and a cable I can upgrade the firmware on my 4210? If so, is there anything special about the cable I'll need?
robo-dad
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 1st, 2017, 8:21 pm

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby vic7767 » August 6th, 2017, 8:17 pm

robo-dad wrote:is there anything special about the cable I'll need?
There is a special 10" cable with a micro USB on one end and a 7-pin mini din on the other. Normally it is included with the Scheduler remote when purchased from iRobot. You will find them on ebay for about $10 bucks.

Using the scheduler remote to upgrade your Roomba will get you to firmware 2.1 but you will still not have the Open Interface hacker commands.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14594
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby robo-dad » August 8th, 2017, 8:58 pm

I'll start working on removing the board this weekend (I hope). Please let me know where to send it and what the fees will be. Thanks, again, for your help.
robo-dad
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 1st, 2017, 8:21 pm

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby vic7767 » August 9th, 2017, 1:53 pm

I sent you an email with shipping address and OSMO hacker flashing fee with return shipping included.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14594
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby robo-dad » September 19th, 2017, 9:17 am

Thank you, vic7767. Your flash was successful and the Roomba is running around cleaning! Now the fun begins. :-)
robo-dad
 
Posts: 4
Joined: August 1st, 2017, 8:21 pm

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby vic7767 » September 19th, 2017, 12:42 pm

Thanks robo-dad. Glad to read you got your main board re-installed into your 4210 and it's hacker friendly now. Have fun! :cheers:
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14594
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby Rsimental » April 6th, 2018, 8:18 pm

Hello, I recently bought a brand new (old) still in the original box Roomba discovery 4210. (This is my second one first being 10 + years old.) When i placed new fully charged battery in it all that happens is flashing status light nothing else. I tried going into diagnostics mode. does absolutly nothing. After doing some online trouble shooting and I think it is a software issue, and I could add software with scheduler remote then I read this thread. Do you think this is a scheduling issue with the flashing status light or something else?
Rsimental
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 6th, 2018, 8:11 pm

Re: Roomba 4210 firmware upgrade

Postby vic7767 » April 6th, 2018, 11:51 pm

It's probably something else. The status led flashes to indicate it has a schedule or that a cleaning mission has been completed. What color is the Status led? If you have removed the battery and then installed it again the Status led flashing would indicate a schedule is loaded.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14594
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA


Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: anjosva, chefkeith, lanchez, symbol and 303 guests