Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » July 18th, 2011, 6:45 pm

vic7767 wrote:What commands would you send Mike?


The magic commands that don't exist for a 400 series..... :roll:

Not sure why I thought the 4xxx series supported scheduling via SCI. My mistake.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby benjaminchodroff » December 4th, 2011, 9:49 pm

I ran into problems on Windows 7 64 Bit with my instructions I posted earlier in this thread.
I fixed it by installing the iRobot drivers manually and installing mscomm32.ocx.

Get mscomm32.ocx here: http://www.ocxdump.com/download-ocx-fil ... nload.html

Register it by opening a command prompt in administrator mode, navigate to the ocx file and register it:
regsvr32 MSCOMM32.OCX

Then I went into device manager, found the device that was reporting a missing driver, pointed it at these drivers unzipped into a directory:
http://www.ftdichip.com/Drivers/VCP.htm

I then went into the device under ports in device manager and made sure it was set to the correct rate (115k)
Sorry for the lack of clarity (I didn't take detailed notes), but I hope this helps you. I got it working, don't give up hope! Oh, and I think I had to reboot Windows a few times (and for some reason install multiple drivers...). Good luck.
benjaminchodroff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Roomba 531 and Scheduling Working!

Postby satanin » January 24th, 2012, 8:59 pm

Thank you for the guide!, I have a Roomba 531 and a homemade bluetooth cable and after following the guide made by benjaminchodroff I have my roomba scheduled for all the week.
:cheers: :cheers: :cheers: :cheers:
satanin
 
Posts: 1
Joined: January 24th, 2012, 8:49 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby hazelb » November 13th, 2012, 10:22 am

This thread is amazing! :cheers:

I've just bought my first ever Roomba off e-bay. My budget would only stretch to a 530 and I was a bit disappointed as I wanted the on-board scheduling feature... Now I find out I can do it!

I'll have a play with the little darling first and get used to it, then I may well be back asking for some help with trying the put in a schedule.

I don't think it will be that straight forward as I have windows7 64bit on my machine :?
hazelb
 
Posts: 12
Joined: November 12th, 2012, 7:52 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 6th, 2012, 7:40 pm

Bought and did slight repairs to a 530. First robot of my life. Anyway, seems to be working.

I'll have the cable on Tuesday. I intend to inject the following commands using the Status app on Win7 64x:
128
168, d,hh,mm
167, 106,12,10,12,10,12,10,14,30


The goal is for a customized schedule on Monday, Wednesday, Friday, and Saturday at specified times 12:10pm and 2:30pm for Saturday.

Am I on target to make this work first shot?

Gracias.
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » December 6th, 2012, 8:24 pm

Travelin man you are correct.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11809
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 6th, 2012, 8:29 pm

vic7767 wrote:Travelin man you are correct.


Copy. I hope this thing works well...

I've always wanted one, but putting forth the dinero and time wasn't much of an option until I found a slightly "broke" machine which just needed about $50 in parts...

Tuesday shall be the day of reckoning assuming UPS delivers my cable on time.

I'm always desirous of more light...and technology. :D
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » December 6th, 2012, 9:25 pm

Here's something I just ordered and plan on testing with the Roomba and Neato. Using WiFi might offer a operating range improvement. http://www.elechouse.com/elechouse/inde ... ts_id=1007
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11809
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 6th, 2012, 10:21 pm

Okay, so I'm curious if issuing another schedule command will overwrite the previous one? Or, how do you zero out the scheduler without some form of factory reset on the bot?

I'm sure that I'll need to tweak the schedule a bit...
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » December 6th, 2012, 10:34 pm

You're on the right track. To clear the schedule use all 0s.

Also, here's a URL to the actual 500 model OI: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=7126&hilit=open+interface
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11809
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 10th, 2012, 6:47 pm

Alas, the cable arrived and I attempted this. Roomba Status works and I can toy around.

I'm uncertain about my commands though. It didn't spin up to clean on a schedule I created.
128
168, 2,17,37
167, 106,12,10,12,10,12,10,14,30

Then, I thought it best to make sure it would work and not just wait two days.
167, 0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
167, 2,17,45

It went past 5:45 without spinning up.

Any input y'all?

EDIT: I realized that I should use a 1 and not a 2 for today (not Tuesday)... 167 and 168 behave differently for what days are what. Silly me, time to retest.
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » December 10th, 2012, 6:53 pm

168 sets the system day and clock time.
167 schedules what days and hours to run a cleaning session.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11809
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 10th, 2012, 6:55 pm

vic7767 wrote:168 sets the system day and clock time.
167 schedules what days and hours to run a cleaning session.


Yeah, so here's what I just did and it didn't work.

128
168, 1,17,51
167, 2,17,53

It's now two minutes past and it didn't fire up at all. It's sitting there without any lights on.

Does this thing have to be on the dock or in some powered-on state to work via scheduler?
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » December 10th, 2012, 7:01 pm

Good catch on the date. You need to enter the entire schedule even if you are not running every day.

For today at 5:45 I think you need:

167,2,0,0,17,45,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » December 10th, 2012, 7:03 pm

Also, on the 400 series one of the LEDs blinks constantly once the robot has a schedule, not sure about the 500 series.

Note the 400 series can't be scheduled via SCI but once it is scheduled via a remote a LED blinks.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 10th, 2012, 7:07 pm

mfortuna wrote:Good catch on the date. You need to enter the entire schedule even if you are not running every day.

For today at 5:45 I think you need:

167,2,0,0,17,45,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0


No light was blinking, but this sure fired up the bot!!! :D

After another reset, I did:
128
168, 1,16,05
167,2,0,0,16,07,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0


Now to setup my actual schedule, I'll be doing:
128
168, 1,16,10
167,106,00,00,12,10,00,00,12,10,00,00,12,10,14,30


I think this matches your correction in requiring the total hh/mm schema for the whole week.
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » December 10th, 2012, 9:20 pm

As a double check it looks like you want to schedule:

Sun - none
Mon - 12:10
Tue- none
Wed - 12:10
Thu - none
Fri - 12:10
Sat - 14:30
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5180
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 11th, 2012, 8:41 am

Precisely! Thanks again.
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby crypted » December 12th, 2012, 1:16 pm

Well I noticed it didn't fire up at 12:10 today. I reviewed my commands and I believe I sent the wrong time.

My notes show that I did "168, 1,16,10" when it should have been "168, 1,18,10" so I guess it should fire up at 210pm.

Could I only reissue the time command, or do I need to redo the schedule too? Or, do I need to do a reset of the device and do both again?
http://twitter.com/#!/derekcentrico | Find me on Freenode IRC: crypted
Provider of the acclaimed aGPS Patch for Android @ http://derekgordon.com/android-how-tos/a-gps-worldwide-patch
User avatar
crypted
 
Posts: 35
Joined: December 5th, 2012, 8:21 pm
Location: Miami Beach, FL

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » December 12th, 2012, 2:26 pm

1610 is 4:10pm, and 1810 is 6:10pm.

Since you are set up to send commands, you can send the master reset command "7" to clear your schedule as well as all other timers and registers in the MCU.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11809
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

PreviousNext

Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: a1robotrepair, Agfadoc, Fraggboy, Gordon, vic7767 and 207 guests