Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » September 15th, 2010, 6:04 pm

Nice write-up. Someone did write a program to do this which could be an alternative to all the typing.

You can also open the roomba as a terminal and send a file to it. You would have to convert the scheduling strings to binary format though.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5760
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby john10101 » February 16th, 2011, 12:15 am

First i want to thank everyone for their hard work. Special thanks to benjaminchodroff for the step by step.
my roomba is running great every day at noon. i just dont think i have the need to run it every day.
I have one question i want the roomba to run monday wednesday friday 2+8+32= 48

so that would be:
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
or
167,48,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00

does it matter if i have a start time if the day is not identified in the day field?

thx
john10101
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby benjaminchodroff » February 16th, 2011, 12:41 am

You're welcome! It does not matter -- either will work. You must set the days to run in the day field, but the start times for days that aren't scheduled to run are basically ignored.
benjaminchodroff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby john10101 » February 17th, 2011, 3:59 pm

sweet, ill test this next week, thanks
john10101
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby MSattler » February 21st, 2011, 2:18 pm

Is it possible to run it twice a day? I have a cat so it would be neat to both vaccum twice as well as amuse the cat a bit more during the day.

Thanks!
MSattler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 2:56 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby benjaminchodroff » February 21st, 2011, 2:24 pm

I think you meant "schedule" instead of "run" -- and no, the scheduling on the 530 only allows once a day.
benjaminchodroff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby MSattler » February 21st, 2011, 4:16 pm

benjaminchodroff wrote:I think you meant "schedule" instead of "run" -- and no, the scheduling on the 530 only allows once a day.


Yeah, that's what I meant. Thanks!
MSattler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 2:56 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby john10101 » February 22nd, 2011, 1:19 pm

so i tried this and my roomba did not run yesterday at noon. what did i do wrong? Do i need to do all the steps to reprogram? all i did was connect in typed

128
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00

do i need to reset the time when i make this change?

i actually did it a few times as i was unsure if the changes take effect. im looking to just have my roomba kick off m w f at noon
john10101
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby benjaminchodroff » February 22nd, 2011, 2:07 pm

I'd go ahead and reset the time (remember to use military time!). Try setting the schedule to a time five minutes in advance so you can test it out quickly.
benjaminchodroff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » February 22nd, 2011, 2:38 pm

john10101 wrote:so i tried this and my roomba did not run yesterday at noon. what did i do wrong? Do i need to do all the steps to reprogram? all i did was connect in typed

128
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00

do i need to reset the time when i make this change?

i actually did it a few times as i was unsure if the changes take effect. im looking to just have my roomba kick off m w f at noon

The 48 decodes to bit 5 (32) and bit 4 (16) set. That corresponds to Friday and Thursday. Change the 48 to a 127 to get it to schedule on all days.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5760
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby benjaminchodroff » February 22nd, 2011, 2:46 pm

Ah, I missed that you wanted it on M W F. That would mean you want "42" (2+8+32) instead of "48"
benjaminchodroff
 
Posts: 6
Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby john10101 » February 22nd, 2011, 3:41 pm

how did i mess that up, thanks, ill redo it tonight.
john10101
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby MSattler » February 23rd, 2011, 3:04 am

benjaminchodroff wrote:I'd go ahead and reset the time (remember to use military time!). Try setting the schedule to a time five minutes in advance so you can test it out quickly.


How do you reset the time?

Thanks,
Marcus
MSattler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 2:56 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » February 23rd, 2011, 7:38 am

From the manual. You have to put a 128 ahead of the 168.

Serial sequence: [168] [Day] [Hour] [Minute]
• Available in modes: Passive, Safe, or Full.
• If Roomba’s schedule or clock button is pressed, this command will be ignored.
• Changes mode to: No change
• Time is sent in 24 hour format. Hour (0-23) Minute (0-59)
Code Day
0 Sunday
1 Monday
2 Tuesday
3 Wednesday
4 Thursday
5 Friday
6 Saturday
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5760
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby MSattler » February 23rd, 2011, 12:27 pm

Thanks everyone! Working splendid now.
MSattler
 
Posts: 4
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 2:56 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby john10101 » February 24th, 2011, 11:03 am

benjaminchodroff wrote:Ah, I missed that you wanted it on M W F. That would mean you want "42" (2+8+32) instead of "48"



This worked perfectly. Cant believe i screwed up that simple math so badly. Thanks for all your help. My floors have never been cleaner.
john10101
 
Posts: 5
Joined: February 16th, 2011, 12:02 am

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby jmcows » July 18th, 2011, 10:02 am

Does this program work for a dirt dog and a 4225 model?
Thanks.
jmcows
 
Posts: 17
Joined: July 3rd, 2011, 4:07 pm

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » July 18th, 2011, 10:15 am

No, you will need a 4th generation Scheduler remote control for the 4XX, 4XXX and Dirt Dog.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14327
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby mfortuna » July 18th, 2011, 11:01 am

If you have a sci cable and either roomba status or a terminal program you can send a schedule.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
User avatar
mfortuna
Robot Master
 
Posts: 5760
Joined: February 5th, 2006, 10:35 am
Location: NH

Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling

Postby vic7767 » July 18th, 2011, 12:48 pm

What commands would you send Mike?
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14327
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

PreviousNext

Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: aarolar, Franzl, skyone, Snokia, tiago_valente and 368 guests