Roomba 530 Scheduling

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Roomba 530 Scheduling

Postby Fryc » June 16th, 2008, 8:58 am

Hi, i've found your forum doing some research with google.
I'm from Italy and i have purchased a new Roomba 530.
I've read that is possible to program Roomba 530 for scheduling.
I' ve download Romba Status already.
Can you tell me which cable i have to buy. I haven't too much experience, so i would aprreciate if you give me a link to the exact item that i have to buy.
I'm from Italy, so i want to be sure before to order a product from USA.

I don't think that blutooth can be useful for me. A cable should be Ok
What i have to buy? Which model?

Thank you very much
Fryc
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 8:45 am

Postby vic7767 » June 16th, 2008, 10:04 am

The correct cable will depend upon what COM interface port you have. DB9 RS232 or USB. You can order from this site:

http://www.roombaexchange.com/products.php?cat=18&pg=2

You can also order a Create Cable from IRobot.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14960
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby Fryc » June 16th, 2008, 11:48 am

Thanks.
So if i buy this: http://store.irobot.com/product/index.j ... 82.2591512
i don't need anythingelse?
Is this correct?
Fryc
 
Posts: 2
Joined: June 16th, 2008, 8:45 am

Postby vic7767 » June 16th, 2008, 8:10 pm

Yes, that Create cable will work. I use one with my 535 and it works well, and I also use a Rootooth from time to time and it works very well also.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14960
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Interface to 530, where is it?

Postby creacom » July 13th, 2008, 10:09 am

From what I have read, it seems the 530 can be controlled and monitored using either the serial cable, bluetooth, or wifi, but where is the mini-din socket?
creacom
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 13th, 2008, 10:07 am

Postby Fraggboy » July 13th, 2008, 10:16 am

creacom,
Image

The connector is under the plate. Gently pry off the top plate, and you will find the mini-din socket.
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Roomba 530 can not be scheduled

Postby ranma » July 16th, 2008, 12:05 am

If you bought the Roomba 530, you unfortunately can not schedule it. You need the Roomba 535 or above and the Wireless Command Center to schedule the Roomba. The Roomba 560 and above have an on board schedule function as well as the wireless interface. The serial interface allows you to either control the Roomba or monitor the Roomba's sensors while it is running, but it does not allow you to download a schedule into the Roomba.
ranma
 
Posts: 1
Joined: July 15th, 2008, 11:58 pm

The serial interface will allow me to schedule the Roomba.

Postby creacom » July 16th, 2008, 8:25 am

Ranma:

Thanks, but yes, the serial interface will allow me to schedule. I won't be able to "download" a schedule as you have said, but I can "press" the virtual "Clean" button.

I have ordered a RooTooth which I plan on using to connect my Roomba to my Mac Mini. The Mini will run a "cron" job to wake and guide the Roomba to a starting point. What I have not yet figured out is how to know when the Roomba thinks it is finished. (I don't see a variable to indicate completion in the API.) I need to know this because the Roomba has trouble finding the docking station in my house. I have seen it roll almost right up to it just to turn around and look for it elsewhere, eventually running out of battery power.

My hope is to start the Roomba through BlueTooth (RooTooth) from my Mac Mini, guide it to a starting point (possibly on the other side of a virtual wall), let it clean, and guide it back to the base when it is finished.
creacom
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 13th, 2008, 10:07 am

530 scheduling

Postby RayC » July 16th, 2008, 9:50 am

I recently purchased a 530 and I've read many posts regarding this scheduling issue. Can somebody please confirm if the 530 is capable of scheduling and what I would need to do this? I have searched this forum front and back but still cannot confirm the programming capabilities for the 530. One post seems to contradict the other. Sorry for my ignorance but I am new to this forum and very interested in modding this unit.

Thanks.

Ray
RayC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 16th, 2008, 9:42 am

Postby vic7767 » July 16th, 2008, 10:34 am

Another 530 owner has verified that you can use the SCI Open Interface to send instructions to the Roomba to schedule it. Check here:

http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?t=9235
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14960
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

It worked

Postby RayC » July 27th, 2008, 12:34 am

Thanks for the confirming. I bought the serial cable and successfully programmed my 530 with the date/time and schedule thanks to the people in this thread.

Many thanks!

Ray
RayC
 
Posts: 2
Joined: July 16th, 2008, 9:42 am

Postby ludwigs3rd » August 3rd, 2008, 10:29 pm

I just got a 530. Can someone please tell me how I can get to the mini-Din connector? I read here that I have to remove top plate (replaceable cover according to the manual.) I was able to get the exterior clips loose but the ring in the middle is caught on something. When I peeked under I didn't see any mini-Din connector. All I saw was two small black plates. Is the mini-Din going to be under those once I get the top plate loose? I'd appreciate any help anyone can offer.
ludwigs3rd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 3rd, 2008, 10:25 pm

Postby vic7767 » August 3rd, 2008, 11:42 pm

The mini din connector will be visible once you remove the top plate. Besides the clips that hold the plate on it also must be guided out of the Roomba handle that is normally used to carry the Roomba around.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14960
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby ludwigs3rd » August 4th, 2008, 12:02 am

Thanks for the prompt reply. I feel like there is something around the center ring of the top plate (around the perimeter of the button area) that isn't allowing it out. Is it just me or do I just need to guide it out of the handle as you said?
ludwigs3rd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 3rd, 2008, 10:25 pm

Postby ludwigs3rd » August 4th, 2008, 12:09 am

I think I found my answer in this post.
http://www.robotreviews.com/chat/viewtopic.php?p=42268#42268
This forum rocks! Thanks for all your help!
ludwigs3rd
 
Posts: 5
Joined: August 3rd, 2008, 10:25 pm

Re: Roomba 530 Scheduling

Postby Amigatech » May 31st, 2009, 9:51 am

Would one of you please post a scheduling script that you have downloaded to the 530? Thanks!
Amigatech
 
Posts: 1
Joined: May 31st, 2009, 9:47 am

Re: Roomba 530 Scheduling

Postby Fraggboy » May 31st, 2009, 9:59 am

Amigatech wrote:Would one of you please post a scheduling script that you have downloaded to the 530? Thanks!


Amigatech,

Welcome.JPG
Welcome.JPG (7.41 KiB) Viewed 11553 times


You will find the instructions in this thread. Granted, you will want to change the numbers to reflect when and what time you want it to run. The thread states a 510, but will work for your 530.
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Re: Roomba 530 Scheduling

Postby piecepaper » January 6th, 2019, 2:04 pm

Hi Guys
A while ago I programmed myself a Liddle Programm to do my Scheduling for my 530 and 580 automatically.
Because it can be really tedious to do the Scheduling with a Terminal Adding and Subtracting all the numbers to input to the Terminal depends on which day you want your Roomba to run. You still need a Cable or and Board to connect your Computer to. The Programm makes the Process much painless to do when you Changing your Schedules Frequently

If you want to try it out i made it Open Scource on Git Hub

Roomba-Scheduler-Open-Interface
https://github.com/PiecePaperCode/Roomba-Scheduler-Open-Interface
Image
piecepaper
 
Posts: 2
Joined: January 6th, 2019, 1:54 pm


Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: 427cu, KeldBroe, lanchez, rob111gb and 303 guests