Dyson 360 Eye

Questions and comments about all other Robots go here.

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby mofan » September 4th, 2014, 11:38 am

Hmm. I don't see where the web site says that the robot finishes a job after recharging... i must be missing something.
mofan
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 86
Joined: July 20th, 2011, 12:55 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 11:43 am








Last edited by piokrza on September 4th, 2014, 12:09 pm, edited 1 time in total.
piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 11:53 am

From what I see now this site http://www.dyson360eye.com/ is constantly up-dated and re-arranged from several last hours. Now, it shows more detailed info about internal components: the vacuum motor is 100 Watt, impeller moves 8 litres of air a second, robot itself uses Li-ion batteries, the bristle brush spins itself at 1450 rpm, etc..
Last edited by piokrza on September 4th, 2014, 12:01 pm, edited 8 times in total.
piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby Fraggboy » September 4th, 2014, 11:55 am

I am sure the specifications will be changing, especially when they start to ship to other Countries..
Chris

:confusion-shrug:
Website Question? Check out the FAQ section.
Roomba/Scooba Question? Check out the READ FIRST section.
:text-search:
Before posting, check out the improved Search engine. Your question might have been answered already.
User avatar
Fraggboy
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3661
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 4:13 pm
Location: In sunny California

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby gregj » September 4th, 2014, 12:12 pm

It's a shame that mr Dyson is not releasing it in his home country first. I have to write complaint to the Queen, it seems...
meep
User avatar
gregj
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 165
Joined: November 15th, 2013, 3:57 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby joead » September 4th, 2014, 12:21 pm

20 mins battery life...wow that's appalling.

It'll take all day to clean one floor in our house with it's constant need to return to base to charge.
joead
 
Posts: 15
Joined: November 4th, 2013, 12:35 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby assuncap » September 4th, 2014, 12:26 pm

I had 2 bots, a 6 year old Roomba 560 and a 2 1/2 year old Neato XV-21. I was expecting this to be my next...
Sorry Dyson, I was keen on give you my money... but I don't live in Tokyo and I want a new bot very soon. This thing should be on the market next week. We're not in the 90' anymore when a new console would arrive in europe and US 1 year after japan...
User avatar
assuncap
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 75
Joined: April 20th, 2011, 7:22 am

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby third_deg » September 4th, 2014, 1:09 pm

0.4 liter bin size???

When I boosted the cleaning power of the 880, we made the bin 60% larger to compensate. Total volume of 880 bin is .7 liters btw

So the Dyson 0.4 liters is pretty hilarious. If it could empty itself, that's fine. But this? You will find that to clean a house you will be bending down to empty it constantly until you just say heck with it and push one instead.

It is much lighter than I expected, but that's because I had made size estimates based on a more useful run time.

I'm sure it will clean great for 20 minutes. So I don't want to sound too negative. But a robot should not need to be tended to so much (defeats purpose), and this may have issues that way.

I'm interested to see hair wrapping in those tracks as well.
third_deg
Robot Master
 
Posts: 507
Joined: November 12th, 2013, 2:01 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby johnnyh » September 4th, 2014, 1:26 pm

Sorry - but can someone cite me where Dyson mentions the battery run time of the now often repeated 20 minutes? I've reviewed the materials up to the first mention of this run time, but I can't seem to be able to find it...
User avatar
johnnyh
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 84
Joined: September 19th, 2010, 11:18 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 2:14 pm

mofan wrote:Hmm. I don't see where the web site says that the robot finishes a job after recharging... i must be missing something.


Here http://www.dyson.co.jp/dyson-vacuums/robot.aspx in the 'docking station' description is wrote that it will re-charge and resume cleaning session during work if it's needed ('Return automatically to the charging dock,
Charged with automatic Dyson 360 Eye ™ robot cleaner lithium ion and time to go back to the charging dock to charge the battery will not know exactly where. And charging is complete, I will resume cleaning.'). Just use google translator.
Last edited by piokrza on September 4th, 2014, 2:20 pm, edited 2 times in total.
piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 2:15 pm

Two models in Japan: http://www.dyson.co.jp/shop/vacuum-clea ... bcat=Robot

"Charging time 2 hours", "Operating time for 20 minutes", "Body dimensions 120 x 242 x 230 (width x depth x height)" I guess they have milimeters... http://www.dyson.co.jp/dyson-vacuums/ro ... -blue.aspx
piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby third_deg » September 4th, 2014, 2:46 pm

The height can't be that tall (230). I'm assuming it's actually 120 or 4 3/4" tall.
third_deg
Robot Master
 
Posts: 507
Joined: November 12th, 2013, 2:01 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby Gordon » September 4th, 2014, 2:59 pm

third_deg wrote:... I'm assuming it's actually 120 or 4 3/4" tall.
A good assumption!

AND: 242 mm, Fore/Aft ~= 9.5"; and
......230 mm, port/stbd (width) ~=9".

It is a small bugger--too bad Dyson exceeded the nominal USA toe-kick height!
Gordon
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: April 6th, 2005, 2:02 am
Location: Santa Ynez, CA USA

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby Gordon » September 4th, 2014, 3:12 pm

Take a close look at the "eye"'s base view and see if you agree that the (marked) cylindrical rollers (the circled one appears to be the wheel of a swivel caster) might all cause marring of finished hardwoods, marble, or other floors as the robot swivels about.
baseVw_markup.jpg
baseVw_markup.jpg (52.29 KiB) Viewed 3598 times
A few years ago there were tons of posts complaining about Roombas causing surface marks on a variety of flooring.
Gordon
Robot Master
 
Posts: 4304
Joined: April 6th, 2005, 2:02 am
Location: Santa Ynez, CA USA

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby third_deg » September 4th, 2014, 3:27 pm

Early Roombas that marked the floor did not have a swivel castor though. I think that element will be fine. (EDIT: You are concerned about the static castors circled.... sorry, I agree may be issue)

But it's very clear he has made some pretty serious concessions everywhere. It's still round, cleaning head near the middle, small volume, can't clean corners, can't get under toe kicks.

A lot to give up just to ensure you use a cyclone. The vacuum power could have come with the willingness to cut run time.
Last edited by third_deg on September 4th, 2014, 4:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
third_deg
Robot Master
 
Posts: 507
Joined: November 12th, 2013, 2:01 pm

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby gregj » September 4th, 2014, 4:08 pm

Knowing Dyson vacuums - these things are probably used to detect type of floor it's on.
Mind you, Japanese houses - especially in cities are tiny. So 20 minutes should be plenty for their market :-)
And the market itself is big enough, they won't care about america..
So we shall wait for v2.
Or maybe I should give a call to my bank manager, he might have a Dyson's contact... hmm
meep
User avatar
gregj
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 165
Joined: November 15th, 2013, 3:57 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 4:57 pm

third_deg wrote:The height can't be that tall (230). I'm assuming it's actually 120 or 4 3/4" tall.


I just copy-pasted this from dyson.co.jp

Neato, although its square front has these static castors as well.
piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby piokrza » September 4th, 2014, 5:31 pm

This site http://www.cnet.com/products/dyson-360-eye/ is telling that the cost will be "130,000 Yen -- roughly $1,250, £750, and AU$1,320"

360 Eye will be showed on IFA 2014 electronic show in Berlin starting tomorrow

piokrza
Robot Master
 
Posts: 3441
Joined: May 18th, 2009, 8:17 am
Location: Poland

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby djos » September 4th, 2014, 5:50 pm

There's some amazing tech in the Dyson's and I love the Tank tracks idea but I think a BotVac or VR200 will still be my next robot ... also how LOUD is that thing, makes my XV-11's look quiet!!
Last edited by djos on September 4th, 2014, 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Current Robot's:
Neato BotVac 80 w/ Li-NMC Battery , 2x XV11 w/ Li-NMC Battery
iRobot Roomba 561 w/ NiMh Battery & Aerovac Bin, Scooba 380 w/ Li-NMC Battery

Previous Robots:
iRobot Roomba 562PE w/ Aerovac Bin & Sealed-bearing CHM
Evolution Mint 4200
User avatar
djos
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 1204
Joined: November 30th, 2009, 7:34 am
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Dyson 360 Eye

Postby robotreviews » September 4th, 2014, 7:41 pm

The Dyson site has a fairly odd disclaimer on it. There is an asterisk after this specific claim:

"It generates the highest suction of any robot vacuum.*"

The disclaimer is as follows:
*All performance claims are based on machines available in the Japanese market in July 2014. Claims are only applicable where the product is available to buy from Dyson or our authorised retailers."

That disclaimer is remarkably specific. It would lead me to believe that Dyson is aware of another robot vacuum that has higher suction either already available in another market or one was once available or one that soon will be. Is anyone aware of another robot vacuum that is or was commercially available that had higher suction than what they are claiming for the Dyson 360 Eye? I find it hard to believe that they would offer such a specific disclaimer unless they were aware of something that would make it demonstrably false enough for them to have to make that specific diclaimer.
User avatar
robotreviews
Chief Robot
 
Posts: 996
Joined: December 26th, 2003, 2:57 am

PreviousNext

Return to All Other Robots

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Brett, johnnyh, KeldBroe, vic7767 and 406 guests