IRobot 980 docking problems

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby chichigirl46 » September 25th, 2018, 11:23 pm

I have had my robot replaced 5 times due to not being able to dock & path not blocked, dying in the middle of the floor after running about 5min’s to 35 min’s, these have been major problems after first purchase running great for about 6 months until an app update. Now my robot being replaced 5 times all with the same problems until this last August app update my robot could dock and clean the whole house, thought my problem has finally been fixed, todays app update caused the robot not being able to dock again. This is so aggravating because IRobot customer service will not except that it is their app updates causing these problems and telling me it is environment problem in my home, well then why did my first purchase ran 6 months great until their app’s updates. Anyone else having this problem or have a solution to this docking problem?
User avatar
chichigirl46
 
Posts: 1
Joined: September 25th, 2018, 10:39 pm

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby RTC » September 26th, 2018, 7:57 am

chichigirl46 wrote:Anyone else having this problem or have a solution to this docking problem?


You don't by any chance have the Home Base plugged into a UPS or other type of "power converter"?
I started getting random intermittent failures to return home when I moved my 980 into another room and inadvertently plugged into the UPS that was in the room. Customer service repeatedly denied that there could be any problem running on a UPS. However I eventually found the warning (in the Battery section) not to plug into any type of "power converter". Plugged directly into the wall or a surge suppressor the 980 works perfectly.

P.S. I cannot run the app as I don't have a smartphone.
Technologist (i.e. one who studies technologies)

From the earliest "sticks and stones" technologies of our prehuman ancestors to the latest "high tech" technologies of today, I like studying it all!
RTC
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 160
Joined: August 23rd, 2018, 7:23 pm
Location: Lost someplace in Montana, USA

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby jikel » February 18th, 2019, 4:23 pm

This has been ongoing with my unit for about 4 months now. It worked great for 12 months but now it runs out of power and does not get a recharge about 1 in 5 runs. iRobot help is in denial on each call and blames base location etc. even though that worked fine for a long time. Never thought about updates, but that sounds like a good candidate for the problem source. Sometimes it runs out of power in mid job in a random room, others it is obviously making its way back to base but just never makes it. I asked if they could adjust the margin of power remaining so as it has more reserves to make it home, but was told no. Seems like a good option for them to include in the next update. Latest fix offered is that I buy a second base and segregate the house but that seems to defeat the purpose of buying a unit with the recharge/resume feature.
jikel
 
Posts: 1
Joined: November 22nd, 2017, 1:33 pm

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby vic7767 » February 18th, 2019, 6:57 pm

Your 980 may be suffering from a bad cell in the Lithium pack that causes loss of reserve capacity faster than normal.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 14960
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby Djk1 » April 3rd, 2019, 8:03 am

Going through the same problem with the 980. Worked great for six months and now I have sent it in for repairs 3 times for docking problems. Dies mid cleaning and can't figure out how to dock. Gets close but never really makes it. Did getting a new battery fix the issue
Djk1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: April 3rd, 2019, 7:58 am

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby gregj » April 9th, 2019, 6:05 am

I have that problem from time to time. I think it';s a firmware issue, they regressed something in software.
meep
User avatar
gregj
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 199
Joined: November 15th, 2013, 3:57 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby RTC » April 9th, 2019, 6:12 am

gregj wrote:I have that problem from time to time. I think it';s a firmware issue, they regressed something in software.

Odd. I contacted iRobot last year and the customer support person I talked to stated that no software/firmware updates updates have ever been released for the 980 and they have no plans to release any in the future. So how could what it came with regress (or progress either)?
Technologist (i.e. one who studies technologies)

From the earliest "sticks and stones" technologies of our prehuman ancestors to the latest "high tech" technologies of today, I like studying it all!
RTC
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 160
Joined: August 23rd, 2018, 7:23 pm
Location: Lost someplace in Montana, USA

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby gregj » April 14th, 2019, 1:13 pm

I got mine when it first came out in the UK and they have released multiple updates since. Multiple .
Last update of my Roomba was in 2018, 18th June. I bought mine in November 2015.
meep
User avatar
gregj
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 199
Joined: November 15th, 2013, 3:57 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: IRobot 980 docking problems

Postby RTC » April 14th, 2019, 5:24 pm

gregj wrote:I got mine when it first came out in the UK and they have released multiple updates since. Multiple .
Last update of my Roomba was in 2018, 18th June. I bought mine in November 2015.

Guess iRobot does not talk to iRobot.

But no surprise, they also told me repeatedly that the 980 will work fine plugged into a UPS when I already knew it didn't. several weeks later I found the warning not to operate on a "power converter" in the Battery section warning it can cause severe damage and void the warranty. After finding that they tried to tell me that a UPS isn't a "power converter" and will cause no problems (one actually told me using an extension cord is OK, obviously they thought a UPS was just another name for an extension cord). I told them to consult their engineers, who would confirm a UPS is a type of "power converter"!!!

But if they released updates or not I can't install them as I am unable to operate touch devices so I don't have a Smartphone and apps don't run on flip-phones.
Technologist (i.e. one who studies technologies)

From the earliest "sticks and stones" technologies of our prehuman ancestors to the latest "high tech" technologies of today, I like studying it all!
RTC
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 160
Joined: August 23rd, 2018, 7:23 pm
Location: Lost someplace in Montana, USA


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: allidad, anjosva, johnnyh, KeldBroe, MadAEng, someoneclever and 324 guests