Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby soviet911 » June 6th, 2012, 5:05 pm

Hello all
A simple question. My Red CHM died today, so I want to buy a replacement. Seeing as 700CHM and 500 CHM cost the same I was wondering if 700CHM will work in my 500? As well as if 700 CHM is better then 500 CHM in dealing with hair debris, it looks to be better designed? I am planning to do bearing mod regardless, but wanted to know. Thanks.
soviet911
 
Posts: 24
Joined: July 12th, 2010, 3:15 am

Re: Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby vic7767 » June 6th, 2012, 6:20 pm

The 700 model CHM will fit into the 500 model Roombas. The entry of debris into the 700 style CHM still occurs just at a slower rate. Here is a URL to the new procedure to ball bearing modify the 700 CHM:
http://www.robot-doc.com/21.html

One other point that is overlooked but happens on all Roomba models is the wearing down of the brush gear shaft diameter and also the enlargement of the opening the gears spin in. In the past brass and copper bushings were used to slow the process but if ball bearings are installed that process is halted.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11869
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby soviet911 » June 6th, 2012, 7:56 pm

Thanks for all your help vic. I have purchased the 700 series CHM and will write a review on it in the 500 with a vac1 bin if I get a chance. I will run it for one month with out bearing mod to see how bad it gets, I have a Turkish van cat that sheds alot, and a GF with long hair. after that I will do the bearing mod. Thanks once again.
soviet911
 
Posts: 24
Joined: July 12th, 2010, 3:15 am

Re: Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby vic7767 » June 6th, 2012, 8:40 pm

soviet911, it will be great to hear of your test/evaluation using a 700 CHM in your 500 Roomba. I'm very interested in how much debris enters the brush gear assembly.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11869
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Re: Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby soviet911 » June 6th, 2012, 8:45 pm

The CHM should be here in a week or so. So expect a review in 4 weeks or so.
soviet911
 
Posts: 24
Joined: July 12th, 2010, 3:15 am

Re: Does Roomba 700 CHM fit in 500?

Postby Roombascoobatastic » May 13th, 2013, 1:32 am

Any updates? How did the 700 chm work out? Did dust get in? I put bearings into my 700 after 1 month and no dust inside
Sincerely,

Rick

Current bots: iRobot Scooba 390, iRobot Roomba 770, iRobot Roomba 560, twin Scooba 230s, Dirt Dog & Robomow.
User avatar
Roombascoobatastic
Magazine Editor
 
Posts: 263
Joined: May 12th, 2013, 1:36 am
Location: Canada


Return to iRobot Roomba and Scooba Chat

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bjarnewarming, Bocks, instrukcije, johnnyh, mfortuna, vic7767 and 145 guests