500 vs. 700 CHM cleaning/survival comparison

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

500 vs. 700 CHM cleaning/survival comparison

Postby soviet911 » June 13th, 2012, 11:21 pm

Hello all.
I have a roomba 560 in which the Red CHM started to die. After some help from vic7767, I decided to replace it with the new generation 700 series CHM. I also decide to see how much better the new 700CHM is. For this purpose I will be running the CHM with out any modifications for a month every day and then open it up to see how well it holds up to picking up hair, dust and crap. For now I do have initial impressions, as well as preview of what this CHM will be dealing with on daily basis.
The Image bellow shows what the redCHM, and brushes looks like after a cleaning run at my apartment. (This was run for about 30 min as I am trying to revive the battery, but it’s a good representation for comparison)
CHM from top
Typical hair build up on the connection edge ( there is similar amount under the bearing side as well)
The Side where Brushes enter the gearbox, you can see hair being compressed against the bearings(those are about 1 year old.)
Bellow is what the 700CHM looks like in my 560 after running for about 40 min at my apartment.
Here is what the 700CHM looks like from top after cleaning.
Hair at bearing side, which there is not as much as usual, especially human hair is very limited in buildup. It is also ALLOT easier to clean those then the red brushes
Bearing condition of the big bristle brush ( no cleaning was done before taking pictures)