First robot! Question about Neato vs Roomba

The very latest news and updates for the iRobot Roomba robotic vacuum, the Scooba Robotic Washer and the Dirt Dog workshop sweeper. All discussion and troubleshooting questions go here.

First robot! Question about Neato vs Roomba

Postby Saphire » September 27th, 2012, 6:07 am

Hi all,
I'm not even sure if I'm posting this in the right place. But I've been trying to figure out what I should get for my first robot, and I'm totally lost. I'm a college student living in a basement apartment consisting of two large rooms, one with linoleum floor and one with a short, hard carpet. I'm very allergic to dust, and I don't want to vacuum more than twice a week, but my allergies are bad and I need something more.
Ideally, I don't want to spend much more that $300 on this thing, but I'll go to $400 if the extra $100 is totally worth it. So I was looking at the Roomba 581 or the Neato XV-11...

This is my understanding (and is probably wrong, feel free to correct!):
The Neato appears to be better... it has better suction power than the Roomba, it takes less time to clean because it cleans methodically, and it doesn't need lighthouses. So great, its better in every way, right? Except so many people seem to prefer the Roomba... why is that? Roomba doesn't seem to have any advantages here. (Well.. except that the Neato is HEINOUSLY ugly, but I plan on docking the robot under my bed so I can't base my decision on that!)

I have no pets, but if anyone can reccommend the best pet-specific robot or filter or whatever out there then I might be more inclined to that due to my bad dust allergies. I don't even know if the Roomba and Neato models I am looking at are the best for my situation, so other suggestions are welcome as well!

Any help or direction would be awesome! I'm totally clueless. Thanks :)
Saphire

Re: First robot! Question about Neato vs Roomba

Postby mfortuna » September 27th, 2012, 6:35 am