Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Inside the Roomba and Scooba and more, Cool mods, Repair and Upgrades - including the all new iRobot Create Kit. Let's void that warranty baby!

Roomba Status (UPDATE V1.4)

Postby Black_64 » October 31st, 2007, 5:27 pm

Hi,

Here is my second program for the Roomba.

It's similar to the SCI-Tester.
I also built in a webserver so you can monitor and start your Roomba over the internet.
It has also a total distance counter (all distance are added).
Now you see how many meters your Roomba did during a clean-job.

This is my first version and I need some feedback.
Let me know what you want to see.

The webserver has a login and will logoff after one min. not active.
The webpage will automatically reload each 5 sec.
The default port is 8080 and the default password is roomba.
You can change this in the menu "Settings".
Note: Don't forget to open the port in your router. (only if you use a router)



Black_64

Image

Image

Image
Attachments
Roomba_Status_SetupV14.zip
(1.62 MiB) Downloaded 6535 times
Last edited by Black_64 on November 8th, 2007, 10:48 am, edited 6 times in total.
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby THX-1138 » October 31st, 2007, 5:36 pm

:shock: Fabulous ideas Black_64! You are providing great tools for us Roomba hackers and enthusiasts! Bravo! :wink:
User avatar
THX-1138
Robot Master
 
Posts: 2802
Joined: June 23rd, 2005, 8:16 pm
Location: United States of America

Postby debugger » October 31st, 2007, 6:23 pm

Very nice, one thing I cannot get to work is the ON or OFF via the web interface - appears to work fine from the program itself.
debugger
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 747
Joined: January 20th, 2007, 6:51 am
Location: UK - Glasgow

Postby Black_64 » November 1st, 2007, 2:31 am

@debugger, you are right. I did changed the buttons and forgot to change them in the program. :oops:

It was not only the "On" and "Off" button but also the "Max" button.
I fixed it and made a fix version. :wink:

Please download the program again from the first topic.

I did forgot to tell that the webserver keeps a log from all action.
So you can see what and who did something.
You find the file in the app. dir/logs/webserver.log.

Black_64
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby debugger » November 1st, 2007, 3:20 pm

Black_64 wrote:Please download the program again from the first topic.


Yep, working fine now.
debugger
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 747
Joined: January 20th, 2007, 6:51 am
Location: UK - Glasgow

Postby vic7767 » November 1st, 2007, 6:47 pm

Very nice GUI design and the program runs very well. Plugged Rootooth in the SCI on the 535, sent the MAX command and away it went. Great job....!
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby debugger » November 2nd, 2007, 2:50 am

One thing I'm not sure about is if the Dirt Detect Icons are lighting up correctly - I have seen the blue light on the top of the Roomba come on and the Roomba starts its dirt dealing mode, but I don't see anything on the PC screen at the same time. Quite difficult to test as you don't always know shen it's going to think that more cleaning action is required!
debugger
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 747
Joined: January 20th, 2007, 6:51 am
Location: UK - Glasgow

Postby Black_64 » November 2nd, 2007, 6:16 am

debugger wrote:One thing I'm not sure about is if the Dirt Detect Icons are lighting up correctly - I have seen the blue light on the top of the Roomba come on and the Roomba starts its dirt dealing mode, but I don't see anything on the PC screen at the same time.

I checked this and the Dirt Detect Icons are working.
But this is so short you don't see it. So i made the next change.
Roomba Status will catch the value of the dirt senor and keep it for 10 seconds.
So you can see it if it's triggered.


UPDATE new version 1.1 Beta:

Because i was not satisfy of the live sensor serial readings i did some changes.
Now the sample's are better and it's more reliable.

I also add Time, Capacity and Charge to the Webinterface.

Please download the program again from the first topic.

Regards,

Black_64
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby Black_64 » November 5th, 2007, 5:49 pm

UPDATE new version 1.2:

Add the Movement screen. Now you can move your Roomba or test the motors.
Select moving speed with the scrollbar.

Did also some cleanup of my html code.

Please download the program again from the first topic.

Regards,

Black_64
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby debugger » November 5th, 2007, 6:18 pm

Black_64 wrote:Add the Movement screen. Now you can move your Roomba or test the motors.


Interesting, I find it a little confusing that the Left and Right arrows change which way they turn the Roomba when you go into reverse. Might be an ideas to allow a switch on/off for each button, so that you can move forward, steer, vacuum, etc. all at the same time?
debugger
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 747
Joined: January 20th, 2007, 6:51 am
Location: UK - Glasgow

Postby Black_64 » November 6th, 2007, 3:52 am

Thanks for reporting this.

The arrows that switch after you go in reverse is a little bug.
I did not notice it and will fix this.

About the on/off button, i don't know if it's even possible to do two things at the same time. :roll:

I will test this and try to make some keybinds.
Then you can use the arrows of your keyboard.
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby Black_64 » November 6th, 2007, 9:23 am

UPDATE new version 1.3:

Fix the switching of the left/right arrows when driving backwards.
Saw also that the main brush motor not worked but the two others start turning.
This is also fixed.

If you press the motor button the that motor only will turn/stop.
I added an on/off button for each motor.
Note: all motors will stop after pressing the motor button turn/stop.

Please download the program again from the first topic.

Regards,

Black_64
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby vic7767 » November 6th, 2007, 11:14 am

Black_64, do you have a way to send the command to place the robot in "safe", "passive", mode etc ?
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby Black_64 » November 6th, 2007, 1:29 pm

What do you mean?

Do you want to have extra buttons with the three modes?

When you start the program (connect) then i send the passive mode command.
To drive the Roomba you must be in safe or full mode.
I send the safe mode command when you press the start button on the movement screen.
And back to passive mode when you press the stop button.

Maybe it's better to put the Roomba in full mode to drive??? :roll:

Or what do you mean?

This is the exact code i use for passive and safe mode:
Code: Select all
Function safeMode()
MSComm1.RThreshold = 1
MSComm1.Output = Chr$(128) & Chr$(130)
End Function

Function passiveMode()
MSComm1.RThreshold = 1
MSComm1.Output = Chr$(128)
End Function
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby vic7767 » November 6th, 2007, 3:51 pm

OK, it's possible that I didn't use the program correctly. I connect via Rootooth then hit the start button in the Movement window then I try and turn on the different motors, fan, brush, etc but nothing turns on. I can move the Roomba with the arrow keys. I'm using a Roomba 535.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby Black_64 » November 6th, 2007, 5:40 pm

Make sure that your Roomba is not:

- Detection of a cliff while moving
- Detection of wheel drop
- Charger plugged in and powered

When one of the conditions listed above occurs, the Roomba stops all motors and reverts to passive mode.

When the Roomba is moving then the motors should work.
Make sure you use the latest version 1.3.

Maybe this is different with the 535? :roll:
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby debugger » November 6th, 2007, 5:52 pm

vic7767 wrote:OK, it's possible that I didn't use the program correctly. I connect via Rootooth then hit the start button in the Movement window then I try and turn on the different motors, fan, brush, etc but nothing turns on. I can move the Roomba with the arrow keys. I'm using a Roomba 535.


Works fine with Rootooth and the old Rooba Red - can't fault it at all this time, great work!!!!!
debugger
Robot Addict
 
Posts: 747
Joined: January 20th, 2007, 6:51 am
Location: UK - Glasgow

Postby vic7767 » November 6th, 2007, 7:50 pm

Black_64, yes the program does work with the 4th gen very well. When connected to a 535 several sensors are off normal and display red. The OI is different on this model. Easiest way to deal with this would be to enable a small window where ROI commands could be entered manually. Delimiter could just be a comma " , " thanks for your programming efforts.
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Postby Black_64 » November 7th, 2007, 2:54 am

No no, i don't think that the OI of the 535 is different.
Only the start sequences is different i think.
This results in a out-of-sync. of my serial data.

Therefore i need to see the serial data of the Roomba 535, but i don't have one. :cry:

I come up with solution. I made a test version that makes a log of the serial data when connecting (only the first 10 sample's).
You will find the log in the map /logs and it call's Serial.log.

To enable the logging you must start Roomba Status with the option "-l" or "-L".
example of the schortcut with command option:
"C:\Program Files\Roomba Status\Roomba Status.exe" -L

Can someone send me this file or PM me the text. :wink:


@vic7767, i also changed the Movements in Full-mode.
You can see the Roomba mode now in the Statusbar.

And i added a combobox where you can add SCI-commands. (combox keep all commands in one session)
Just use a "," as delimiter. Don't forget to press the "Send" button to send.
Attachments
Roomba_Status_SetupV13_Test.zip
(1.55 MiB) Downloaded 602 times
Black_64
Robot Groupie
 
Posts: 63
Joined: March 2nd, 2007, 3:56 pm

Postby vic7767 » November 8th, 2007, 1:31 am

Black_64, this latest version with the Comm window is great! Thanks for including it. Also the motor controls work for all 3 motors with the 535. Here is the -L log dump:

Start:2 10

Start:2 112 p
Start:2 10

Start:2 136 ^
Start:2 1 ☺
Start:2 0
Start:2 1 ☺
Start:2 1 ☺
Start:2 1 ☺
Start:2 1 ☺
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 0
Start:2 3 ♥
Start:2 65 A
Start:2 198 ?
Start:2 0
--------------------------------------
Start:3 63 ?
Start:3 33 !
Start:3 10

Start:3 112 p
Start:3 10

Start:3 136 ^
Start:3 1 ☺
Start:3 0
Start:3 1 ☺
Start:3 1 ☺
Start:3 1 ☺
Start:3 1 ☺
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 0
Start:3 3 ♥
Start:3 65 A
Start:3 198 ?
Start:3 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:3 39 '
Sample:3 33 !
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 112 p
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 136 ^
Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 79 O
Sample:3 75 K
Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 79 O
Sample:3 75 K
Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 79 O
Sample:3 75 K
Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

Sample:3 13
Sample:3 10

--------------------------------------
Sample:4 79 O
Sample:4 75 K
Sample:4 13
Sample:4 10

Sample:4 13
Sample:4 10

Sample:4 79 O
Sample:4 75 K
Sample:4 13
Sample:4 10

Sample:4 1 ☺
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 1 ☺
Sample:4 1 ☺
Sample:4 1 ☺
Sample:4 1 ☺
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
Sample:4 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:5 3 ♥
Sample:5 65 A
Sample:5 198 ?
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 63 ?
Sample:5 33 !
Sample:5 10

Sample:5 112 p
Sample:5 10

Sample:5 136 ^
Sample:5 1 ☺
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 1 ☺
Sample:5 1 ☺
Sample:5 1 ☺
Sample:5 1 ☺
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
Sample:5 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:6 3 ♥
Sample:6 65 A
Sample:6 198 ?
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 63 ?
Sample:6 33 !
Sample:6 10

Sample:6 112 p
Sample:6 10

Sample:6 136 ^
Sample:6 1 ☺
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 1 ☺
Sample:6 1 ☺
Sample:6 1 ☺
Sample:6 1 ☺
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
Sample:6 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:7 3 ♥
Sample:7 65 A
Sample:7 198 ?
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 63 ?
Sample:7 33 !
Sample:7 10

Sample:7 112 p
Sample:7 10

Sample:7 136 ^
Sample:7 1 ☺
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 1 ☺
Sample:7 1 ☺
Sample:7 1 ☺
Sample:7 1 ☺
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
Sample:7 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:8 3 ♥
Sample:8 65 A
Sample:8 198 ?
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 63 ?
Sample:8 33 !
Sample:8 10

Sample:8 112 p
Sample:8 10

Sample:8 136 ^
Sample:8 1 ☺
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 1 ☺
Sample:8 1 ☺
Sample:8 1 ☺
Sample:8 1 ☺
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
Sample:8 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:9 3 ♥
Sample:9 65 A
Sample:9 198 ?
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 63 ?
Sample:9 33 !
Sample:9 10

Sample:9 112 p
Sample:9 10

Sample:9 136 ^
Sample:9 1 ☺
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 1 ☺
Sample:9 1 ☺
Sample:9 1 ☺
Sample:9 1 ☺
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
Sample:9 0
--------------------------------------
Sample:10 3 ♥
Sample:10 65 A
Sample:10 198 ?
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 63 ?
Sample:10 33 !
Sample:10 10

Sample:10 112 p
Sample:10 10

Sample:10 136 ^
Sample:10 1 ☺
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 1 ☺
Sample:10 1 ☺
Sample:10 1 ☺
Sample:10 1 ☺
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
Sample:10 0
--------------------------------------
<-- END 11/7/2007 11:19:41 PM


C:\Program Files\Roomba Status\logs>
Roomba and Neato Mods, come visit: http://www.vic7767.com/

http://www.Robot-Doc.com/
User avatar
vic7767
Robot Master
 
Posts: 11933
Joined: January 14th, 2006, 8:31 pm
Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA

Next

Return to Robotic Hacking

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: bab80, neato, smartaccessorynation, vic7767 and 222 guests