Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Nice write-up. Someone did write a program to do this which could be an alternative to all the typing.
You can also open the roomba as a terminal and send a file to it. You would have to convert the scheduling strings to binary format though.
You can also open the roomba as a terminal and send a file to it. You would have to convert the scheduling strings to binary format though.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
First i want to thank everyone for their hard work. Special thanks to benjaminchodroff for the step by step.
my roomba is running great every day at noon. i just dont think i have the need to run it every day.
I have one question i want the roomba to run monday wednesday friday 2+8+32= 48
so that would be:
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
or
167,48,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00
does it matter if i have a start time if the day is not identified in the day field?
thx
my roomba is running great every day at noon. i just dont think i have the need to run it every day.
I have one question i want the roomba to run monday wednesday friday 2+8+32= 48
so that would be:
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
or
167,48,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00,12,00,00,00
does it matter if i have a start time if the day is not identified in the day field?
thx
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
You're welcome! It does not matter -- either will work. You must set the days to run in the day field, but the start times for days that aren't scheduled to run are basically ignored.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
sweet, ill test this next week, thanks
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Is it possible to run it twice a day? I have a cat so it would be neat to both vaccum twice as well as amuse the cat a bit more during the day.
Thanks!
Thanks!
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
I think you meant "schedule" instead of "run" -- and no, the scheduling on the 530 only allows once a day.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Yeah, that's what I meant. Thanks!benjaminchodroff wrote:I think you meant "schedule" instead of "run" -- and no, the scheduling on the 530 only allows once a day.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
so i tried this and my roomba did not run yesterday at noon. what did i do wrong? Do i need to do all the steps to reprogram? all i did was connect in typed
128
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
do i need to reset the time when i make this change?
i actually did it a few times as i was unsure if the changes take effect. im looking to just have my roomba kick off m w f at noon
128
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
do i need to reset the time when i make this change?
i actually did it a few times as i was unsure if the changes take effect. im looking to just have my roomba kick off m w f at noon
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
I'd go ahead and reset the time (remember to use military time!). Try setting the schedule to a time five minutes in advance so you can test it out quickly.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
The 48 decodes to bit 5 (32) and bit 4 (16) set. That corresponds to Friday and Thursday. Change the 48 to a 127 to get it to schedule on all days.john10101 wrote:so i tried this and my roomba did not run yesterday at noon. what did i do wrong? Do i need to do all the steps to reprogram? all i did was connect in typed
128
167,48,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00,12,00
do i need to reset the time when i make this change?
i actually did it a few times as i was unsure if the changes take effect. im looking to just have my roomba kick off m w f at noon
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
-
- Posts: 6
- Joined: September 15th, 2010, 5:10 pm
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Ah, I missed that you wanted it on M W F. That would mean you want "42" (2+8+32) instead of "48"
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
how did i mess that up, thanks, ill redo it tonight.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
How do you reset the time?benjaminchodroff wrote:I'd go ahead and reset the time (remember to use military time!). Try setting the schedule to a time five minutes in advance so you can test it out quickly.
Thanks,
Marcus
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
From the manual. You have to put a 128 ahead of the 168.
Serial sequence: [168] [Day] [Hour] [Minute]
• Available in modes: Passive, Safe, or Full.
• If Roomba’s schedule or clock button is pressed, this command will be ignored.
• Changes mode to: No change
• Time is sent in 24 hour format. Hour (0-23) Minute (0-59)
Code Day
0 Sunday
1 Monday
2 Tuesday
3 Wednesday
4 Thursday
5 Friday
6 Saturday
Serial sequence: [168] [Day] [Hour] [Minute]
• Available in modes: Passive, Safe, or Full.
• If Roomba’s schedule or clock button is pressed, this command will be ignored.
• Changes mode to: No change
• Time is sent in 24 hour format. Hour (0-23) Minute (0-59)
Code Day
0 Sunday
1 Monday
2 Tuesday
3 Wednesday
4 Thursday
5 Friday
6 Saturday
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Thanks everyone! Working splendid now.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
benjaminchodroff wrote:Ah, I missed that you wanted it on M W F. That would mean you want "42" (2+8+32) instead of "48"
This worked perfectly. Cant believe i screwed up that simple math so badly. Thanks for all your help. My floors have never been cleaner.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
Does this program work for a dirt dog and a 4225 model?
Thanks.
Thanks.
- vic7767
- Robot Master
- Posts: 15556
- Joined: January 14th, 2006, 7:31 pm
- Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
No, you will need a 4th generation Scheduler remote control for the 4XX, 4XXX and Dirt Dog.
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
If you have a sci cable and either roomba status or a terminal program you can send a schedule.
Mike
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
Reds x 3, Dirt Dog, Disco (now a parts bot), Create, Scooba 350, and Security Dawg
Evolution Mint
Neato XV-11
Shark Ion 750
- vic7767
- Robot Master
- Posts: 15556
- Joined: January 14th, 2006, 7:31 pm
- Location: Haughton Louisiana - USA
Re: Roomba 530 and Scheduling
What commands would you send Mike?